Podcasts I Listen to: A Jiu-Jitsu Lifestyle

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

My drive to and from work takes about 40 minutes to an hour depending upon traffic. It’s a little bit of city and then one and two lane highways the entire way. Monotony is not the word to describe it. I have remedied this situation by listening to my iPod, especially since I gave up on my satellite radio a long time ago…

Aside from other topics,  I listen to MMA and submission grappling podcasts when they are available.

Why do I listen to them?

Well, I like the fact that I can learn the ins and outs of MMA, the latest gossip and what’s happening with the different leagues. The podcasts also allow me to hear interviews of different fighters and MMA characters. The podcasts that I listen to are:

The Lights Out Show hosted by Chris Fries and the JDH

The Low Blow hosted by Ryan Harkness and Jacob Fortin (Not for the feint of heart/very irreverent); and

The Ultimate Podcast hosted by Gary Alexander

I recently heard a broadcast of FightOpinion and I thought it was pretty good. It had a quick pace, a lot of information and interviews. I could do without the talk on professional wrestling though.

Breakdown:

The Lights Out Show: Pretty good pace. They tell you what they are going to talk about and then they talk about it. Mild Humor. PG. Very knowledgeable and the occasional interview with pretty big figures in MMA. Consistent posts since they first started broadcasting. The only downside is that they keep hawking those dang t-shirts, of which I need to order, because their podcast is free and I do enjoy them…..

The Low Blow: TV quality laughter and entertainment from a podcast. These Canadians are hilarious and are deserving of a major contract. They poke fun, no they are merciless when it comes to talking about fighters and fighting. They are becoming experts on MMA and although I think some of their analysis is garbage, it’s all in good fun…   Rated R (you’ve been warned)…

The Ultimate Podcast: Gary Alexander does the dirty work in these podcasts as he tracks down fighters and interviews them for the fans. He provides his insights and analysis and it’s pretty entertaining in a straightfoward kind of way. Beware Matt Hughes fans, he has a grudge against him and he always finds a way to bring Hughes up….

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

3 thoughts on “Podcasts I Listen to: A Jiu-Jitsu Lifestyle

    slideyfoot said:
    December 9, 2007 at 12:06 am

    I’d recommend checking out the No Holds Barred podcast: he sometimes wanders off into boxing, but most of the time, awesome MMA and grappling show. One of the few people podcasting who has a historical grasp of MMA.

    http://nhbnews.podomatic.com/

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 9, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Thanks Slideyfoot,

    I will check it out. I am always looking for podcasts I can listen to. Especially when I am driving to and from work…..

    sandrar said:
    September 10, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a comment