Promoted to Purple Belt! Yeah Baby!!!

Aside Posted on Updated on

Prof Shealy Promotes me to Purple Belt!

It was a beautiful setting. I couldn’t ask for a more idyllic scene to receive my Purple Belt. Today we held a seminar with Rigan Machado; BJJ legend and 8th Black Belt. Two of the first books I ever bought were by Machado (Encyclopedia of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu I and III).

There were about 50 people in attendance, many of whom I have trained with for 2 years now. Professor Shealy started off by saying there were some people he wanted to recognize and then he started calling us up. Jason Dominguez received his Black Belt. I was called up second and received my Purple Belt. Prof handed Master Rigan Machado the belt and then Machado took off my Blue Belt and tied the Purple Belt around my waist.

Master Rigan Machado Awards me my Purple Belt

I was all smiles while it happened and really appreciated the applause afterward. Not for vanity’s sake, but because I have trained over and over with these guys and without them it wouldn’t have been possible.

I trained for a year in judo in the late 90s, started no gi in 2004 and began training with the gi in 2008. I have moved often due to my career and didn’t receive my Blue Belt until Feb 2009. Since that time I have trained in two different academies.

In other words, it took me 8 years to earn a purple belt. Even though I have a million excuses, I am finally glad that I have a permanent BJJ home that I can grow in and progress. Some people probably dismiss the idea of BJJ being a marathon and not a sprint as a banal statement, but it is truly a journey and I have appreciated every step!

Note: Now I don’t have to watch the Roy Dean Purple Belt Promotion videos with longing for the day when I reach Purple Belt. — Instead, I can watch the Brown Belt vids. It’s not over! Ouss!!!

10 thoughts on “Promoted to Purple Belt! Yeah Baby!!!

    Kitwana said:
    August 26, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Congratulations!!

    jiujitsu365 responded:
    August 26, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Thanks Kitwana!

    Rick said:
    August 26, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Faixa Roxa! Nice! Congrats!

    jiujitsu365 responded:
    August 26, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Obrigado Rick!

    workoutdrinkbemerry said:
    August 27, 2012 at 9:16 am

    congrats!

    jiujitsu365 responded:
    August 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks WorkoutDBM!

    steve said:
    August 29, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    SO AWESOME!!!!!!

    Schrammbo said:
    August 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Hey first of all congrats on the promotion. Secondly it looks like the professor has a donjoy knee brace on. How does he manage to spar with a donjoy on? My knee brace always seem to limit my movement quite a bit.

    jiujitsu365 responded:
    August 30, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    I appreciate it Steve!!! It was awesome!

    jiujitsu365 responded:
    August 30, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Thanks Schrammbo!

    He only has to wear it for six weeks. Besides, we have quite a few Black Belts, more than enough browns, etc., to keep us well grounded.

Leave a Reply

