Half-A-Twister

Posted on Updated on

Check out my other blog: Psychology of Jiu-Jitsu

I’ve been working on my ’10th Planet Game” for the past couple of weeks. I incorporated Twister side control (TSC) into my arsenal over two years ago, but I stopped trying to get the Twister once I realized that I could achieve mount easily once I had TSC. However, for the past two weeks I have been incorporating Old School Sweep (again) and the Electric Chair (for the first time) into my game. Surprisingly, I was able to pull off the Electric Chair with no hassle.

Done.

Since I have executed it a few times with no problems I decided to move on to the Twister. During flow drilling today I was working with a fellow Blue Belt, Rob, and I was able to pull off half of the technique. He wasn’t resisting so it was no big deal, yet I have never gotten that close on completing a Twister ever. He ended up in an entirely different position than I expected and I couldn’t complete it, but when I let go he said, “That was cool!”

It’s a shame, but I just said thanks like I meant to do it.

Later on I was rolling with a new woman, who came from another gym. She put me in a reverse triangle when I had her in side control. It felt like my head was going to pop open for a few seconds until I figured out how to get out. When I tried to do the Twister on her I was able to establish Twister side control. Then I brought her leg over and locked it down and then I rolled over my left shoulder. I lost my lock down on the way over and my grip on her other foot  and somehow we ended up laying side by side on the ground. We just looked at each other and laughed.

I’ll keep working on the Twister.

We also did some drills with those huge ropes you always see fighters on UFC countdown using to demonstrate that they have really been working hard. We did three 30 second rounds. I thought to myself, “Okay three rounds, I can handle that.” I could and did. What I didn’t count on is my back muscles seizing up like some one hit them with a hammer. I have to be careful with that exercise.

I was a little bit off during all the rolls today but I know all days won’t be stellar.

Later.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

 

2 thoughts on “Half-A-Twister

    Tree Frog said:
    December 22, 2010 at 12:19 am

    If you keep the lock on the foot as you roll from top of side control, you do not necessarily need to go up and take the back – although you can and finish with a neck crank. You can stay down there and finish with a calf slicer, toe hold or go for your electric chair.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 15, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Thanks Tree Frog,

    I’m trying to save those options for a rainy day. I’ve been trying to develop the twister for a while so I don’t want to distract myself. Sometimes when I learn the easiest way I will tend to lean on it too much.

Leave a Reply

