Day class – Friday (June 4, 2010)

Posted on Updated on

Check out Jiujitsu365′s new book, Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

 

Warm-up

Jumping Jacks, Squats, push-ups, sets of crunches, leg triangles, bridging, neck exercises and stretching

Drills

We started of with a 2 punch combo followed by a push kick. This set up the entry for a body wrap using the S grip. At this point we pull the opponent into us. After we practiced this a few times we added a inside leg trip where we ended up in guard and postured up.

Following this we drilled chokes from the mount and then followed that up with a choke sequence that can be applied when a person rolls once mounted.

Following this we bowed out.

By now people are wondering what’s up with the rolling. Well, first it is an hour long class so you can only do so much. But more importantly, Prof Robierto stressed that they are about learning more than anything else. Also since it is a fundamentals class, the focus is on learning techniques so new people can know what to do when they grapple. I can understand this because if you don’t know anything it is easy to pick up bad habits or learn coping mechanisms that might work at first, but will serve as a detriment later on. He told me that more live drilling occurs in the advance class. I will attend an advance class in a week or so when my schedule permits.

Today I also learned a few more names – Alex, Amber and Patrick.

Extra

Oh, I don’t think I mentioned that I am about 10 minutes from my new school. This really helps!!!

3 thoughts on “Day class – Friday (June 4, 2010)

    Steve said:
    June 7, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Sounds like a good class and 10 minutes door to door is awesome!

    In a 1 hour class, do you guys get your free sparring in during open mat? How does that work?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 7, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Steve,

    I love it. The first day I came back from class my wife said she barely knew I was gone.

    As far as sparring goes I don’t fully understand their system yet. I know that he told me that the gym is available if we wanted to come in before classes and work out and/or roll and I am sure if there is no class afterward people could spar too.

    I don’t quite know how their open mat works. In every one that I have ever participated in it has never been controlled so I didn’t bother to ask about that. (Maybe I should have.) I am just so smitten with the way they drill technique that I am fine for right now.

    I’ll keep you posted.

    Tap, Tap, Tap, Tap!!! « Jiu-jitsu 365 said:
    June 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    […] Posted on June 9, 2010 by jiujitsu365 Saturday we reviewed the same techniques as the last class. I also met a few more people and some of them are colorful […]

Leave a Reply

