Felt like old times – also a special thanks to P90x

Posted on Updated on

After being away for such a long period I felt as if I hadn’t missed any time at all.

Ryan (purple belt) instructed class today and he was teaching us the “100 percent” technique that he has been working on the past few months with Art. He showed us how to achieve three submissions using it (guillotine, another neck crank and an arm-bar).

After drilling different variations of the 100 percent we began rolling. I first rolled with Eric, who is a fellow blue belt. Since I have been out for 2 months I decided to play by the adage, don’t let your opponent do anything he wants to do. I also decided not to voluntarily go to my back or let myself be reversed since Eric is hard to get off of me when he gains a dominant position. He started in butterfly  guard and I on my knees and at the end of four or five minutes that’s where we ended up. During that time I managed to almost pass his guard a number of times but he always recovered before I could gain full control. I rubbed my ear against his shirt at one time and felt the nastiest stinging sensation I have ever felt on my ears since I’ve been grappling. It stills feels sore tonight so I will have to keep an eye on it.

The next guy I rolled with (forgot his name, sorry) surprised me with with his improvements since the last time we rolled (about 5 months ago). He felt stronger than I remembered and his game had totally changed so once I was able to establish top control I held it until we finished. When we finished he kept saying I was strong. I kid you not he said it at least three times to me and then I heard him telling other people as I went to grab some water. I didn’t think I was using any extra strength but when we started grappling he had a new ‘wiriness’ that I didn’t remember so I played him tight instead of allowing him to play his game.

I rolled with another new guy (new to me) and he told me before he started that it didn’t matter if we stood up or started on our knees because he was going to go to his back as soon as he could. So we started on our knees. He is the kind of grappler that will wrap up your arms or head with his legs from any position. I was eventually able to tap him with a knuckle choke.

My final roll was with Ryan. I had to play a defensive game with him as he is very adept at using grips to disrupt your train of thought while he is working on something altogether different. After two minutes of me defending against him pulling my gi and trying to sweep me while he was in butterfly guard we eventually ended standing up. After a few moments I was able to get a hip toss. He immediately swept me when we hit the ground. The next minute or so I spent fending off his attacks. I need to work on securing control after my throws.

I was extremely happy with my performance today because I never tired and I didn’t sit out any rounds, which is excellent for me since I have been out for a while. I just finished a round of P90x (90 days) last Saturday and I believe this is why I was able to jump right into the swing of things.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

9 thoughts on “Felt like old times – also a special thanks to P90x

    leslie said:
    November 18, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Welcome back! Glad to hear the PX90 earned its keep. 😛

    P90X Fan said:
    November 18, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Way To Go!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    November 18, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Thanks Leslie,

    Yeah it did finally earn its keep. It’s been collecting dust for over a year.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    November 18, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I appreciate it P90x fan.

    John said:
    November 29, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    “very adept at using grips to disrupt your train of thought while he is working on something altogether different”

    I think that is a terrific strategy for attacks. I have a lot of success going hard for one attack and then taking another. It seems the more you break their focus, the less they focus on legitimate attacks.

    Conan said:
    December 15, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Glad to here you’re back in the game!

      jiujitsu365 said:
      December 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      Thanks Conan,

      It feels good to be back!

    Kevin said:
    October 26, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Glad to hear P90X helped your Jiu Jitsu. I’m starting another round of P90X and planning to start BJJ along woth it. I’ve don’t have much martial arts experience, so I’m really looking forward to it!

      jiujitsu365 said:
      November 1, 2010 at 10:50 pm

      Thanks Kevin,

      Well welcome to the BJJ world. P90x should help you avoid gassing out like a lot of people just beginning. It will also help you with warm-ups, etc.

Leave a Reply

