Do Dreams Count?

Posted on Updated on

Last night I had a dream that I was a purple belt. Which is odd because I haven’t been to class in a week. In the dream I had on a white gi (my real gi is blue) and I was tightening up my purple belt while talking to some new guys.

Also all of this was taking place in the middle of an MMA cage. What’s funny is that I had a dream that I was training BJJ the previous night.

Does dreaming count as training? 

I ask mostly in jest, but when I dream about BJJ I feel as if I am really doing it and I am fully conscious (in the dreams).  I once dreamt that I tapped out two random guys by RNC and an arm bar; another where I tapped out GSP with a rear naked choke; and where a guy demonstrated how I could tap out one of my instructors (won’t say which one). He tapped him out within seconds and I was amazed

For those who are long time readers of my blog you know I once had a dream that I was sleeping in a Japanese dojo and suddenly Dana White burst through the door. He told me that I was getting promoted to purple belt and I needed to hurry up and get dressed.  

Regardless, I have to go back and train in my reality soon. I have to admit though that last time I went it was so ridiculously hot. For the past two weeks we have been faced with 90 to 100 degree weather with ‘”feels like” ratings ranging from 103 to 115 degrees. I have been dealing with feelings of sluggishness but I’ll come around.

*I am a blue belt for those new to the blog.

4 thoughts on “Do Dreams Count?

    Tree Frog said:
    June 24, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I had a dream where I was absolutely whipped on the mats by a guy with no legs.

    I woke up frowning and with a confused imperative to train more to beat him next time.

    Joel said:
    June 26, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Never had this with jiu jitsu, but when I was doing wushu I used to have dreams where I would pull off whatever technique I was trying to learn flawlessly, with more torque and airtime than would ever be possible. I’d do a butterfly twist with five rotations or an aerial cartwheel where I virtually floated…then wake up and curse. I think it’s your subconscious working on moves – I quite often find that I can nail things I’m having trouble with straight away in a practice session after a couple of days’ rest.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 27, 2009 at 10:40 am

    That had to suck Tree Frog.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 27, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Joel,

    I agree. On a deeper level I believe that I am working on rising above a plateau.

Leave a Reply

