Book Knowledge translated to Mat Knowledge

Posted on Updated on

My efforts to record what I practice from books has borne fruit. I was able to tap 2 people (albeit new guys) today using new techniques. I have been working on the Closed Guard Overwrap and Overwrap to Back techniques from “Jiu-Jitsu University.” Today I was able to use both with a little variation during rolling.

While rolling with the first guy I was able to pull him into me while he was in my guard. I then realized that I could throw my left hand over his right shoulder and snake my right hand through his left armpit. I clamped them together (Overwrap) and then tried to use my right shoulder to bump his arm up so I could get my head out (Overwrap to Back). After I was able to get my head out I realized that I had a opportunity for a head and arm choke. I dropped my plans of hipping out and trying to take the back and instead locked in the choke from guard. 

Oh man it was locked on tight. I didn’t have to squeeze hard at all and I have never felt that much power in a choke. I could have written it off to chance but I was able to do the same thing to the second guy I rolled with. He tried to struggle a little after I locked it in but a little squeeze made him tap too.

I only performed 30 reps each of both of those techniques and am glad that I was able to use it so soon. I guess the position I ended up in while transitioning from one technique to the next provided the extra torque in the submissions.

As far as the drill portion of class, we worked on guard defense. It was a really good session as we worked on a sweep, shrimping out, a block to an attempt to throw the leg over the shoulder, etc. 

*The techniques I referred to are on pages 103-105 in the Purple belt section of “Jiu-Jitsu University.” 

6 thoughts on “Book Knowledge translated to Mat Knowledge

    neijia said:
    June 16, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I wonder what the limit (if any) is to getting techniques out of books and videos. You can’t acquire good movement, endurance, etc. from reading, but it seems you could get limitless technique ideas.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 16, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I don’t know, but I have been using ideas from TV and books since I started practicing Martial Arts. As you know, although precise technical movement are not always there just like with any other technique taught in class I have to adjust it to someone when drilling or otherwise. I make it my own.

    As far as BJJ is concerned, I have learned entire techniques from books, videos and TV. In Judo, I learned how to do Tomoe Nage from a book. When I did it in class, my instructor, said I had been watching too much TV. I nailed it, but it was probably a bit much for class.

    Ryan said:
    June 22, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I have actually struggled to apply most techniques I have learned outside of class, with the exception of some sweeps from online videos. I think its great this is bearing fruit for your sparring sessions.

    You mentioned you do reps of the techniques you have read – which seems like an obviously smart smart way to solidify the techniques. When you do reps, do you take it upon yourself to educate your partner from scratch, or do you have them read the technique from the book before you practice?

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    June 22, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks Ryan,

    Outside of class, the reps that I perform are solo reps. So it is me going through the motions and imagining the other person being there. I also use the heavy bag for solo drills and to practice positioning.

    Some would probably view that as a waste of energy but I started doing that over a year or so ago and it paid off in my classes right away.

    neijia said:
    July 5, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    “So it is me going through the motions and imagining the other person being there. ”

    That is also a “kungfu” training technique but it’s rarely done in an “alive” way nowadays. Good to know it’s working for someone.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 7, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks neijia,

    It’s weird. I keep thinking about sports that I played growing up and most of my time spent trying to become better at them were spent practicing by myself. Whether it was dribbling or taking jump shots, running miles for cross country, practicing Karate and Kung fu (praying mantis), playing tennis, etc.

    I know the best way to learn BJJ is by grappling with others but it just seems strange that solo practice is not pushed or talked about more heavily.

Leave a Reply

