Grappling Books & Recording Progress

Posted on Updated on

I have about 30+ books on grappling; Sambo, Brazilian Jiu-jitsu, Judo, Submission Wrestling and MMA. Like all of the martial arts books I have bought over the years I have poured over them and practiced techniques that have caught my eye.

However, in my quest to improve my BJJ game this approach seems more like a Jack of all trades, master of none approach.  In the past two weeks I have taken a different approach. As I am always looking through books and use them for my solo drills I decided to record my  number of reps. I simply write a capital R or L  at the top of the page to indicate what side I practiced it on and then place a check above the letter to signify 10 repetitions. 

If I keep it up, it will let me know how much I have practiced a certain technique. It will also serve as a tool to motivate me to practice the same moves to drive the numbers up and to work through the entire book. Hopefully, greater reps will translate to the mat.

3 thoughts on “Grappling Books & Recording Progress

    Scott said:
    June 11, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Keep us updated on this thread. Solid idea. I’m in the same boat except w/o this plan…:-)

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 11, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Will do!

    […] Knowledge translated to Mat Knowledge Posted on June 15, 2009 by jiujitsu365 My efforts to record what I practice from books has borne fruit. I was able to tap 2 people (albeit new guys) today […]

Leave a Reply

