Pass, Pass, Pass!!!

Posted on Updated on

Yesterday we worked on guard passes during drill. Smiley had us us work on our favorite guard pass for the first half of class and then we had to choose another pass for the second half. I was able to work out a lot of kinks out of two guard passes that I have been working on. However, when we started rolling I had to revert back to some of my old guard passes when I couldn’t get my sparring partners to budge from their closed guards. 

On another note, during rolling, one of the newer guys I have written about before, Joe, has really improved. I asked him at the beginning of class if he had been coming to every class for the past 3 months and he said yes that he’s there everyday (5x week). I grappled with him about three weeks to a month ago and I was able to take him down, establish side control, then mount and knuckle choke within a couple of minutes. This time around it was totally different.

We started off with me holding him in guard. From that point on I was in a firefight. He was throwing all sorts of techniques at me that I know he didn’t know a few weeks ago. He even put me in a upside down triangle like Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone locked onto that guy in the WEC. I was just about to tap when I realized that if I stacked him a bit I could get out. Last time we wrestled in a gi and this time we were no gi so there were some different dynamics at work too. I managed to lock in a head an arm choke twice when he had me mounted but I forgot to expand my chest and tried to use my arms to get the tap. It didn’t work. 

I was inspired and saw what everyday class practice can do for someone. (I also have my reservations about that but that is for another post.) 

I also scraped off about an inch of skin on my big toe during warmups due to a new drill at the beginning of class. Smiley called it the Samurai crawl and if I remember correctly it is supposed to help with takedowns. All during class guys were pointing out that their knees and toes were scraped. I didn’t bother to check myself until half way through class. That’s when I saw the skin hanging off my big toe. When I got home I cleaned it with soap, poured hydrogen peroxide on it and applied Neosporin. However, this morning when I got up it was puffy and red around the surrounding area. I’ll have to keep a close eye on it.

4 thoughts on “Pass, Pass, Pass!!!

    Tree Frog said:
    June 2, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    The worst is when you skin the tops of your toes. Ugh.

    What’s this Samurai crawl?

    Anything like something from here? http://www.aesopian.com/202/bjj-warm-ups-and-exercise-videos/

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 2, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Imagine performing a double leg takedown where you fall to your knee for the shoot. However, it is from a squatting position. You keep going from that point by alternating knees while performing something akin to the duck walk.

    Sorry, that’s the best I can describe it.

    Oh yeah, thanks for referring me that page on Aesopian’s site. He’s at the top of my blogroll but I haven’t been to his site in a long time.

    brendan said:
    June 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Hey, great blog!
    Here’s a tip I learned about minimizing blister and scrapped skin irritation. Use this stuff called liquid bandaid, available at most drugstores. Goes on like nailpolish and forms a tough covering over the sore area.
    If you ever come to NY please swing by our school, clocklwork jiu jitsu (formerly http://jiujitsuinc.com/ Instructor is Josh Griffiths. Great guy. Great teacher.)
    -Brendan

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 13, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Hello Brendan,

    Thanks for the tip and the invitation! I have heard of your school before and visited the website. (I don’t know how, but I’m always browsing for something related to BJJ.) It looks like it is a top-notch facility and offers a lot of perks.

    Bakari

Leave a Reply

