I couldn’t believe I screamed like that!

Posted on Updated on

I haven’t posted in a bit as I have been preoccupied with my JiuJitsu365 Twitter Page.

But to recap these past few weeks I have been attending class once a week on Fridays. Due to a hyperactive schedule this past month as well as battling minor injuries I decided to limit my participation until Spring Break. 

Well this Friday, after I left my office, was the official beginning of Spring Break. I headed over to Combat Athletix and everything was going well. I led the class during the stretching phase of warm-ups and drills went well. We learned self defense moves to the Full Nelson and three variations of a guard pass. My partner during the drills was a new guy, who is in law enforcement. He said the extent of his training were the basics they teach you in law enforcement. He was a big guy though (about 6’1 and 250+).

When it was time to roll, I suggested we start on our knees since it was his first time. He was pretty strong up top when we started to grapple so I decided to just get into the roll by pulling him into guard. What was funny was that he was able to immediately use the guard pass we had practiced in drill. So I shifted gears and recovered my guard. He tried one of the passes again and I decided to go for a butterfly hook so I could get the sweep. I folded in my left leg and as I did this he rested his entire body on my chicken winged leg.

A loud popping and cracking sound, along with my scream, reverberated through the room. Everything that was going on in class stopped. In terror I jumped up onto my good leg trying to see what happened. Smiley, Joe (the guy I was wrestling), Josh and someone else who I can’t remember came to my assistance. No bones were sticking out, I could still walk and had full mobility but I could feel something wasn’t right and my knee started to get warm.

I now wonder what my facial expression was because they were all trying to reassure me that everything would be okay and not to worry about it. I then began, like Caleb at the Fightworks Podcast, to think about the scream I let out. Joe, the guy I was rolling with, actually sat with me for about 10 minutes or so while I recuperated. He kept mentioning how bad he felt. I told him don’t worry about it and to make sure that he comes back. I let him know that I had been doing this since 2004 with no major injuries and that sometimes these things happen. It was ironic as I was reassuring him that all would be well and to not worry about it. 

As I write this on Sunday, I have plans to visit an Urgent Care Facility in the morning since self treatment hasn’t seemed to work. I can walk around so I ‘know’ that it shouldn’t be ‘major’ but I know that something is up.

7 thoughts on “I couldn’t believe I screamed like that!

    Conan said:
    March 29, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I’m going to make a prediction here that they won’t be able to tell anything without an MRI. I hope it’s not serious.

    Argie said:
    March 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Hope things are okay!

    Dan the Butcher said:
    March 29, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    I hope things are ok, Feel better. It seems everyone in the BJJ blog community is getting hurt. You, Caleb, Elyse, and Myself. One day this will all make for some good reminiscing.

    Patrick said:
    March 29, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    AH! I don’t like reading about these kinds of things, I’m getting flashbacks of own my injury. I really hope everything is okay. Let us know how things are!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 29, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks guys!

    I’m hoping for the best.

    Steve said:
    March 29, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Oh man. Get well soon!

    Ken said:
    March 31, 2009 at 5:38 am

    I Hope the news is all good. Get well soon.

Leave a Reply

