Random Thought – My Superhero Move – The Knuckle Choke!

Posted on Updated on

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

I sometimes think about what is my go to move in BJJ. The technique that I can count on for success in ending a roll. It is definitely not the one I wish was my go to technique, like a flying arm-bar or a wicked triangle that I can sink from any angle. But it is a show stopper.

It is the knuckle-choke applied from the mount.

What’s great about the knuckle choke is that you can set up 75% percent of the technique before the guy even knows you are working on a submission. When applied correctly it looks as if you are creating a vice grip with your arms. I learned it from watching the above video.

After watching the video, I tapped someone with it in the next class. And the next class, and the next. I would say that I have had about a 90% tap-out rate with the technique. If I were a BJJ superhero, I probably would be known as Knuckle Choke. I didn’t ask for the skill, I just realized I had a propensity to pull it off. And if I have a guy in the mount and he’s not cooperating with my other sub attempts I can bet you I’m going for it.

“What’s in your wallet?”

7 thoughts on “Random Thought – My Superhero Move – The Knuckle Choke!

    Tree Frog said:
    March 19, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I don’t have much of a mount game at all – and get rolled easily from the top. However, I’m developing a propensity for getting triangles mid-roll. That’s probably the source of most of my better submissions thus far.

    After a few classes of actually relying on that, I decided to shake things up and start working the side and mount stuff. It’s slow going, but I can notice the results almost immediately.

    Conan said:
    March 19, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Funny stuff. My superhero name would be ude garami. Kind of has a nice ring to it.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 19, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Conan,

    I had to look ude garami up, but it does sound cool. It looks like once you lock it in, there’s very little time to react.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 19, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    True Frog,

    You’re right about switching things up. But I also think it’s all about cycles. During one phase I used to be able to catch arm-bars on people in the turtle position. I think most people expect for opponents to sink hooks or one arm over and under. But I would focus on the arm instead. Now it hardly ever works.

    Patrick said:
    March 24, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Hehe. My BJJ superhero name would be Escape Boy!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 24, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Pretty Cool Patrick,

    So far we have:

    Knuckle Choke
    Ude Garami
    Triangle Man (Tree Frog); and
    Escape Boy

    Hazard said:
    May 4, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Bummer. I think with a name like Overhook I sound more like the villian. 😦

Leave a Reply

