Nephew Quits: But in negotiations to return

Posted on Updated on

My youngest nephew quit both BJJ and the Kenpo Karate classes. I was shocked. About three weeks ago during sparring in their Kenpo class, he was kicked in the head by one of his classmates. They had on headgear but he was pretty shook up by it. I was not present that night but my brother told me he cried and sat out for the rest of the night. I thought that was all but apparently that was too much for him. He is 9 years old. 

On the morning of my BJJ test, my brother arrived with only one of the guys and said that the youngest had quit. I’m thinking, quit what. He quit everything. I had always noticed that he wasn’t giving his all but I just assumed that he just didn’t like to exercise. I guess the blow gave him an excuse to quit. His father said his mother doesn’t want him to force him to attend. I am his uncle so I can’t either. Although I don’t think he should be allowed to quit cold turkey. I think it may set a precedent. They usually spar (Kenpo) on Thursdays so he could even attend the Tuesday classes where they train katas, kicks and punches.

He doesn’t have to go to BJJ.

I do know that during the time he would normally be in class he is not allowed to watch TV, play video games, etc. He has perform some type of work. He complained to his mother that he could have gone to Karate instead. So maybe he will come back.

3 thoughts on “Nephew Quits: But in negotiations to return

    alex said:
    March 10, 2009 at 10:25 am

    hey just read through the last few pages of your blog, great stuff! congrats on getting your blue belt too

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 10, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Alex,

    Thanks for the compliment and the congrats.

    neijia said:
    March 11, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    It really pained me to see my son leave soccer as it was my favorite sport and it was great seeing him play. He prefers basketball but he’s thought about playing more soccer since his best friend plays it. Who knows. Something he’ll have to decide.

Leave a Reply

