I am a Blue Belt!

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

At 10 AM this morning I officially became a Blue Belt.

I had just finished 10 minutes of sparring where I rolled with a new person every minute non-stop. I thought the 10 minutes would be no problem because after classes we roll 5 four minute rounds and I participate in 3 to 5 of them with no problem. The only time I sit out is usually due to a lack of a partner.

I miscalculated how hard it would be. Before we began my instructor, Smiley, casually stated that it should be so intense that “someone should have to drive me home.”

I had hallucinations about halfway through. At one point I said to myself, “Doesn’t Smiley know I am going to pass out?” After the third person switched they began to jump on me in whatever position I was in. I was grunting like the guy who was taking his Purple Belt test with Roy Harris and I actually became scared at one point when I was being smothered and had a flashback to Big Rick in Georgia. Finally, I lost count and couldn’t remember how many minutes I had left. When 1 minute was called out I thought 1 minute with the person I was rolling with or one minute after this one. Luckily that was the last minute. And with that, it was all over.

I suspect anxiety and adrenaline played a roll in my exhaustion. Oh yeah, did I mention I was the only one testing. So the guys had nothing to do but stand and wait for their turns to jump in.

Before the rolling session I had to demonstrate 11 techniques (submissions, escapes, sweeps and reversals from every position) and then demonstrate them again with an explanation of what I was doing.

It was all smiles and hug-pounds at the end as I was congratulated and we bowed out. The kids BJJ class had started to stream in so the kids and their parents (some of them take BJJ too) had a opportunity to see me have my behind handed to me. They offered congrats as well.

I have to admit it was one of my finer days in the lovely art (sport) of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

I’m off to celebrate,

Peace!

19 thoughts on “I am a Blue Belt!

    neijia said:
    February 28, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Congrats!!!

    Radamez85 said:
    February 28, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    congratulations brotha!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 28, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Thanks Neijia and Radamez85!

    Conan said:
    February 28, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Congratulations, Bakari!

    teddy said:
    February 28, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    OUTSTANDING WORK!!! Many congratulations to you!

    leslie said:
    March 1, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Congrats!

    Elyse said:
    March 1, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    The blue belt promotion, imo, is the most significant of all the promotions you will receive in your life (even the ones that come with $$$ if you happen to maintain a second life in the “real world”). You should be extremely proud (as I know you are).
    Congratulations!!
    -e

    Trey said:
    March 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Congrats on your promotion. Awesome stuff!

    Dan the Butcher said:
    March 1, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Congrats on the promotion. Keep up the hard training.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 1, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Thanks a lot guys!

    I appreciate all of the comments.

    Bakari

    Jiujitsu365

    Patrick said:
    March 2, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Congrats! Bet blue looks good on you.

    Roy Dean said:
    March 2, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Well done! Congratulations!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 2, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks Patrick!

    If it doesn’t, I’ll wear it anyway. 🙂

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 2, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Thanks Roy (Professor),

    Your DvD helped considerably in my preparation and I’ll recommend it anytime I get the chance.

    BJJ Blue Belt Requirements
    http://www.roydeanacademy.com/dvds

    Ricky said:
    March 2, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Congratulations!

    forlogos said:
    March 3, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Nice, congratulations!!!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 3, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks fellas,

    Ricky and Forlogos…

    TorontoBJJ said:
    August 26, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Congratz brah. Must be feelin alot happy with your new blue belt. I just started training at Toronto BJJ almost 1month and im oonly 15 years old wonderin when will i get my blue belt.

    GRATZ AGAIN!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    September 1, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks TorontoBJJ,

    I received it in February but I am still proud of it to this day. I’m sure you will have your blue belt before you know it.

Leave a Reply

