Roy Dean’s DVD: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu – Blue Belt Requirements

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

I had been aware of the DVD set for months. Either in the blogosphere or maybe on a random check on Youtube I bumped into the Roy Dean academy’s Blue belt test videos. The movements the 4-stripe white belts were displaying were crisp and smooth. They also performed quite a few techniques before they had to spar against people of varying ranks including their instructor. I was thoroughly impressed.

I watched each one I could find over and over again. Then I saw the BJJ combinations clips, the BJJ Purple Belt Exam and other videos from the Roy Dean  Academy and I knew I had to buy it. But  I hesitated. After buying the University of JiuJitsu, which is awesome, I decided to curtail my spending on BJJ related items. My training fees, my nephew’s training fees, online membership (which I just cancelled), books, magazines, etc., was (is) getting to be expensive.

But one Friday after watching Roy Dean’s videos on YouTube a dozen times I couldn’t resist and ordered the DVD set, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu – Blue Belt Requirements on Amazon. It arrived last week on a Tuesday and I have been reviewing it every day. As a four stripe white belt who will be testing soon for blue this is an awesome resource.

It reviews “escapes, submissions, guard passes, ukemi (falls), takedowns, demonstrations” and Dean’ guidelines for his Blue belts. Dean also reviews the techniques from numerous camera angles and explains the philosophy behind the techniques. It is a comprehensive resource as all of the material one would probably need is in one place.

Even though I am a four stripe white belt, I started training no-gi BJJ in 2004 and only since June of last year have I been learning BJJ with a gi. I know that a DVD set like this would have been a very valuable resource for me in 2004.  Many academies provide you with the basics, but unless there is a BJJ beginners class after a while you will have to join in with the rest of trainees and either sink or swim. But to be fair, most training in academies is cyclical and if you stick around long enough you will see most techniques again and again. However, a DVD, such as Blue Belt Requirements would have let me continue to refine my basics while learning the advanced material as well.

I can’t say enough good things about it as I believe the DVD will help you to become a master of the basics, increase your technical proficiency, prepare you for your own Blue belt exam as well as serve as a fundamental review of techniques for anyone who needs a review. It is easy to navigate and thorough.

Well worth it…

6 thoughts on “Roy Dean’s DVD: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu – Blue Belt Requirements

    slideyfoot said:
    February 17, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Without any doubt the best BJJ DVD for beginners out there. I would also highly recommend it.

    Looking forward to Purple Belt Requirements!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 17, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Slidey,

    I haven’t seen them all but I would concur with your statement.

    I will be an automatic customer when he creates “Purple Belt Requirements.”

    steve said:
    February 17, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    The only BJJ technique DVD I own. I have this and Stephan Kesting’s drills DVD set. Both are worth their weight in gold.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 18, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I’ll have to look into Stephan Kesting’s drills.

    Thanks for the tip.

    Solomon said:
    May 18, 2009 at 3:07 am

    This DVD instructional is the absolute best on the market BAR NONE! The instruction is clear, concise and as close to him being in your living room with you as a DVD can be. The level of instruction is superior and really makes a lot of academies ought to be ashamed of themselves!

    You can see a slew of his Blue belt promotions starting with Rick Ellis on Youtube and you’ll find that his students are doing things at white belt that some don’t learn until approaching purple.

    Laslty, his training/sparring CD is also the best thing out. It consists of the tunes you hear on the Youtube clips.

    Nothing better!

    Hipolito M. Wiseman said:
    February 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I really just wanted to chime in and let you know that you are possibly one of the best writers ever on this subject. Everyone else is kind of hard to understand as I am not exactly A native English speaker, but I am trying. So I appreciate you breaking it down for me.

Leave a Reply

