Everything is Paying Off: BJJ

Posted on Updated on

I mentioned in another post that I started a new regimen of lifting, running, stretching, performing calisthenics and working on BJJ techniques everyday. I had to quickly amend that to adjust for injuries. I made the mistake of coming home from practice last week and immediately lifted weights for my upper body. The next morning it felt as if someone had separated my shoulder with a Claw Hammer. (My neck was also sore, but I think that was due to me not tapping in time.)

Adjustments aside, I could see marked improvement in class this past Tuesday. My endurance is fine and I can keep rolling during the entire sparring sessions after warm-ups and drills. I have also been able to utilize the throws and sweeps that I have been practicing during my solo practice sessions. 

Four puzzling things did happen during class:

After I tapped a guy out with a knuckle choke and explained how I caught him, he said, “That’s right, you have an Aikido background.” 

While drilling with Charlie (blue belt), he said in a matter of fact way that I probably don’t have any problems passing people’s guard.

Carlos, an assistant instructor and brown belt, asked me, “Do you think you could teach people (BJJ)? and

Another guy after I rolled with him asked me if I was in the police academy.  

It was too many statements to ignore and I pondered them after class.

4 thoughts on “Everything is Paying Off: BJJ

    neijia said:
    February 5, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I think those 4 seemingly disparate comments all point to one thing – perception that you are skilled beyond your apparent level, probably as indicated on your belt. Some people will assume your skill comes from some other training (aikido, police, etc.). Carlos’ question was the greatest compliment, I thought. Good going!

    I can’t tell from your post but do you think you had improvements mainly from the endurance work – so that you could stay relaxed and use what you know better and for a longer time?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 5, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Thanks Neijia,

    I like the way your mind works.

    As far as the endurance work, I have been able to roll with greater intensity without having to worry about preserving energy. My flexibility has also increased. I have begun to use my legs and hips more to try and get myself out of trouble.

    But I think the solo technique training has helped considerably. While watching video clips trying to find something I like, I have fallen into the habit of watching particular moves 10 times or more. I keep it up until I can visualize myself doing it. I have been focusing on defense as well.

    I think all of it has helped.

    Wanderlei said:
    February 6, 2009 at 7:34 am

    It sounds like everything is paying off! So what kind of endurance training do you do? And how often do you do it?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 6, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Wanderlai,

    Since my schedule has been chaotic as of late and I can’t attend class as much as I like this routine has been helping.

    I have a bare minimum that I try to meet everyday and go light (as far as weights and exercises) when needed. (I learned the hard way.)

    Run, sprint and walk (at least a mile)
    Weight workout (alternate upper and lower body) 4 sets of 12 for each body part
    10 sets of calisthenics – 20 reps each (hindu squats, push-ups, etc.)
    10 different stretches (mainly bridging, splits (attempted), and stretches for the hips, abs, shoulders and lats)
    Jiujitsu Techniques (3 sets of 10 reps)

    I am trying to go hard enough to keep improving but not so hard that I would not want to do it. When I have a long day I just spread it all out so I can fit it in.

Leave a Reply

