Thanks Helio Gracie!

Posted on Updated on

I would just like to say thank you to Helio Gracie. When I first heard of his passing yesterday in class I was shocked. 

He indirectly and directly influenced my life. Although he didn’t ‘create’ Gracie Jiu-jitsu he was right at the cusp and was responsible for it being an art that could truly protect the weak from the strong. As he passed the tradition down to his family, who then proselytized to all of us, I have helped spread BJJ to my nephews and hopefully will one day spread it to my own daughter(s) and/or son(s).

Here  is a video of him at 95. Vibrant and strong well into his nineties. Wow!

Leave a Reply

