Schedule Up-ended, Interfering with BJJ training

Posted on Updated on

Scheduled meetings, unexpected meetings and new obligations have drastically interfered with my ability to attend class. I haven’t been to Combat Athletix since last Tuesday. I have, however, been working out at home, even as late as 12 AM. Even though I can’t be there I am still trying to maintain my fitness level. 

I have developed a whole new routine, exhaustion be damned. Each day I have to run (treadmill), perform calisthenics, lift weights, stretch and perform 10 reps each of 3 BJJ techniques. I am alternating lower and upper body weight workouts and going light when needed. I designed it to be relatively quick and to the point similar to a P90x workout. I have been doing it for 5 days and feel pretty good so far. 

When I get the chance to return I want it to be like I never left or want to see improvement. Even though there is nothing like grappling to get better at grappling.

2 thoughts on “Schedule Up-ended, Interfering with BJJ training

    Judd said:
    January 29, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    What does “perform 10 reps each of 3 BJJ techniques” mean exactly?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 29, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Say I want to work on a mount escape. I will perform that mount escape as reasonably as I can without a partner 10 times.

    Then I might work on the mechanics of a throw or takedown 10 times. After that it could be a run through on the specifics of a darce choke (10 times).

    Often I use the heavy bag when I perform solo drills and work on transitioning from one dominant position to the next.

Leave a Reply

