Judo Man ‘Got’ Judoed

Posted on Updated on

Yesterday (Tuesday) was my first day back since last Tuesday. My wife and I went on a ‘mini-vacation’ so I didn’t have an opportunity to go to class.  My instructor (Smiley) noticed I hadn’t been there for a week.  I am trying to maintain consistency so I may have to dig a little bit deeper to attend another night class on a different day.

The good thing is that I have been working out everyday so my cardio level was intact. We reviewed a self-defense technique for the headlock, a defense to the mount and an escape from the mount that leads to the heel hook.

When it was time to roll two of my sparring partners, Charlie (blue belt) and Carlos (brown belt) wanted to start standing. They are both smaller than I am, but they are muscular and strong. In my first roll with Charlie we went back and forth with takedown attempts and he finally ended up trying to pull me down into a guillotine. I was able to defend properly but the first roll ended with him achieving a triangle choke. It’s been a while since I got caught with that submission. Charlie is very aggressive (controlled though) so I had to up my intensity level and we ended up in a stalemate the second roll.

I immediately rolled with Carlos (brown belt) next. While jockeying for position and grip fighting he came out of nowhere with a shoulder throw.  It was very well executed and I appreciated the efficiency of it. As I landed I thought to myself, “Wow, that was a nice throw!” I don’t remember if he tapped me, but I do remember him jumping from knee on belly, to mount, to knee on belly pretty much at will.

When it came time to roll with Smiley, who is 6’1 or 2 and 265 lbs, he asked if I wanted to start up or down and I chose down. I am not a big fan of standing up during practice, but I may need to polish up on my Judo skills. Smiley tapped me at will but I did make progress in trying to pass his guard. I almost pulled it off, but almost is an opinion and not a fact.

2 thoughts on “Judo Man ‘Got’ Judoed

    Eddie said:
    January 15, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I know what you mean man. I have been specifically training stand-up the past month because I realized how uncomfortable I felt on my feet. Up until my first tournament…every time I rolled with someone..I started on the ground. I’m glad to say that I feel way more comfortable on my feet now. Anyway, take it easy man 🙂

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 16, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks Eddie,

    Yeah, I realize I need to train standup a little more. Usually, I have been able to take people down easily and I didn’t want to hurt anyone who’s never taken Judo. But by not standing up I am losing the skills I picked up.

    By the way, cool blog.

Leave a Reply

