Breaking through Plateaus

Posted on

Yesterday was an all star day for my development. It was one of those days when you break through the plateaus you have been experiencing. During the drilling portion of class we worked on a technique from guard that  can lead to a number of submissions; armbar, omoplata, triangle choke, etc. 

However, it was the rolling session of class where I noticed my growth. For some reason, I was able to implement a number of counters to techniques almost as soon as they were happening. Further, even if I wasn’t able to pull off a counter, the fact that the ideas were coming so quickly gave me a boost in confidence.  I first rolled with my instructor, Smiley, who tapped me out as usual, but I was able to use a new approach that Carl (formerly Big K) taught me. He had to follow a different road map to tap me out, which is encouraging.

I also rolled with Charlie (blue belt) and Ryan (purple belt). I was able to roll with them without being tapped and I was surprised at some of the techniques I tried to carryout as well. I have been adding some defensive tweaks to my game that have been paying off and it is from one of my new favorite books. I will talk about it in the next post.

6 thoughts on “Breaking through Plateaus

    Conan said:
    December 23, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I have a book in mind that I’m guessing is one of your new favorites. It will be interesting to see if I got it right.

    Congratulations on making the final list! Of course, they’re all great blogs, but I voted for yours. Good luck.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    December 24, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I appreciate it Conan.

    You are probably right on the book. I have read a few bloggers already singing it praises more so than other also excellent books.

    Tanner said:
    January 5, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Sounds like you found “the zone”.

    That’s the feeling I live for. However, I’m a golfer and it’s kind of different. Either way there’s some interesting science behind the zone.

    I use MMA for training techniques to help me in golf. Maybe it could work in reverse.

    Check out “On the Sweet Spot”

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 5, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Tanner,

    That sounds interesting. I am intrigued to see how MMA and golf relates.

    Tanner said:
    January 5, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    I’ve studied different training drills for footwork and balance used in MMA. I should clarify, I’m a disc golfer, so there is footwork, hip twisting and balance involved.

    The best thing I’ve used is Tai Chi. In a non-reactionary sport it’s difficult to find flow, vs say basketball or MMA. I can calm my breathing and find my center which has made a huge difference in my game. On the sweet spot goes into the science of what’s actually taking place in the brain and through the body.

    The lengths MMA fighters go in training is truly inspiring and has pushed me to work harder. Golf books, Zen philosophy, and MMA drills are my diet for disc golf.

    weight gainer shake said:
    March 9, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It truuly helpfdul & it helped me out much.
    I am hoping to give something again and help others sucdh as
    you helped me.

Leave a Reply

