Sitting on the Sidelines: BJJ and Injuries

Posted on Updated on

On Wednesday my back was still hurting so I decided to watch. I am glad I did. I had an opportunity to talk to a lot of the guys that work out in the boxing class before BJJ (Some of them come to Jiu-jitsu class too).Usually I just come to class, say a few hellos and then class starts, so I was able to get a different perspective on where I train.

The last time I went to class injured and just to watch I was in my first year of training. I ended up grappling in my street clothes. This time I made sure I stayed seated. I still felt that familiar pull and excitement that I felt in 2004 while watching the rolling portion of class. I just told the guy I was talking to as opposed to acting on it though.

I guess it is just like any other activity or sport that you love to do. When it’s in you, it’s in you.

2 thoughts on “Sitting on the Sidelines: BJJ and Injuries

    Radamez85 said:
    December 21, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    its tough to sit out. i rarley sit out
    i myself like to attend the teaching portion of the class, then maybe sit out the sparring portion of the class.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 23, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Now that’s dedication. We have been doing a lot of practice falls and “tumbling” like drills during the warmup lately so I played it safe.

Leave a Reply

