BJJ: Concrete Measures for Improvement

Posted on Updated on

As November 16th  was my one year anniversary of Jiujitsu365 I have been thinking a lot lately in terms of direction. I purposely avoided commenting on it because I was in a fog over my BJJ development. I know I have improved but I didn’t know how to quantify or express my progress.

The last three weeks of my project,  I even stopped doing my 30 BJJ reps a day. I still did something BJJ related each day to reach my goal, even if it was  studying a book or watching TUF on Spike.  But that was pushing it. However, now I have refocused and decided on some concrete measures to improve my BJJ game. They are:

Personal Notebook:  I want to be able to pore over the pages and be able to say, “Oh, this is why I am able to do this so well! I worked on it 100 times last year”  or “No wonder I have no bottom game, I never work on it.”

Private Lessons: I can break down my game with my instructor, gain mat time I couldn’t get otherwise and work on my strengths and weaknesses. I also imagine that this would make me much more technical.

Recording my sparring sessions: I want to study my game like NFL players do. Hopefully, I will see my errors and learn more about my sparring partners; things I don’t always see when I have a forearm smashed against my neck. 

I have already started using the personal notebook and it is actually easier than blogging. I will start taking private sessions in February when the new semester has slowed down a bit. I will start filming on January 2 after the holiday season.

7 thoughts on “BJJ: Concrete Measures for Improvement

    Anthony said:
    December 5, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Great ideas on how to improve your game. I did keep a consistent note book during my first year of BJJ. I still look back on it. I only wish I would have kept doing.

    Conan said:
    December 5, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I was wondering how far along you were and was thinking you had already passed the one year mark awhile back. I didn’t realize it was so recent. So, happy anniversary.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    December 6, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Thanks Anthony and Conan.

    neijia said:
    December 6, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    What are you using for a notebook? Literally, pen on paper notebook? I log some boring (but possibly important to me) details in private blog entries.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 6, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I have one of those journals (that looks like a book) that I bought in Borders. I like the ease of picking it up and writing immediately.

    forlogos said:
    December 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    congrats on one year of jiujitsu365!!

    recording sounds like a great idea..an inexpensive way to learn more about how you roll. Privates are too expensive for me, but from what I’ve seen from others it really pays off

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 11, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I appreciate it forlogos.

    The privates are expensive, that’s part of the reason I am waiting until after the holidays. Plus the semester is basically over so I can train with no problems until January.

Leave a Reply

