No-gi Class – “Somebody Call My Mama!”

Posted on Updated on

Class was excellent. I have been riding an emotional high since Monday night. I remember an MMA fighter once saying that although he has often not wanted to go to practice, he has never regretted going. I feel the same way about BJJ. 

We worked on the single leg takedown, passing guard afterward and then transitioning to side control. We also worked on hip switches, the turtle position and another guard pass.

My cardio is up and I rolled for 5 – 3 minute rounds after class with a different person each time. I didn’t tap anyone and no one tapped me; although I was taking it easy tonight. I realized tonight that my strengths are positional dominance and defense. I don’t have to get the tap at all costs and usually will give up a dominant position if I notice the guy can’t get out. This probably has cost me taps over the years, but it let’s me work my overall game.

The last guy I rolled with looked exhausted before we began. I think I had a little more energy until my leg cramped. When it cramped, I let go of my guard and he sank back and tried to put on an ankle lock. I defended using the method Carlos taught me last week. When I reclaimed the mount he ‘tapped’ from exhaustion (does that count?) and uttered, “Somebody call my Momma!”

3 thoughts on “No-gi Class – “Somebody Call My Mama!”

    surayuth sansuk said:
    October 22, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Cool..

    Hondo said:
    October 25, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Great post, I just wanted give a heads up that if your academy has special events, competitions, stuff like that I can post an add on our web site http://www.jiu-jitsu-usa. to drum up some more attention for your academy. Our web site gets alot of traffic and we are Jiu-Jitsu guys so what ever we can do to help we will gladly help. Train hard, Cheers, Hondo

    jiujitsu365 said:
    October 27, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Thanks Hondo,

    I appreciate the hospitality.

Leave a Reply

