A visit to the evil chiropractor…

Posted on Updated on

I didn’t really go to the chiropractor, but a guy in class last night kept giving me ankle adjustments. It was the same guy who was my training partner during the Luis Palheres seminar I attended a few months ago. We hadn’t grappled with each other since that time and the scenario was the same, including the outcome.

I was able to gain positional dominance again and again but twice he was able to sit back in a scramble and slap on a basic ankle lock, which I didn’t know how to protect myself from.  I immediately sought out assistance from Carlos, a newly promoted brown belt and who was running the class, on how to defend them.

The guy had exposed a basic chink in my armor.  He has only been training for five months but he explained (during the seminar) that he has been doing ankle locks since he started because someone slapped one on him. At all my previous schools we never really focused on ankle or leg locks. I can count on one hand the number of times we were either shown a technique or how to defend. It was quite unnecessary to show us because we weren’t allowed to do them in class anyway.

So last night was good for me. I know that I will be developing this facet of my game.

I also rolled with Carlos. He provided the other half of the chiropractor visit. He performed upper body tweaks; a near kimura from his guard, armbar attempts and techniques I can’t remember. I can’t even recall what I tapped out to.

[The vid above shows an ankle lock defense.]

3 thoughts on “A visit to the evil chiropractor…

    forlogos said:
    October 13, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    lol, that’s funny how you call them – chiropractors!!

    thanks for sharing that video

    But doing ankle locks with only 5 months of training? I dunno, sounds dangerous to me

    jiujitsu365 said:
    October 14, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    No problem.

    I don’t think it is sanctioned by the instructors, but with 20 plus guys (and gals), on average, it is tough to see who is doing what sometimes.

    Then you have the new guys who learn techniques from DVDs or from “free TV” who slap on techniques without warning.

    forlogos said:
    October 14, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    True – and there is a reason why a lot of schools limit those techniques to those with more experience – I just hope no one gets hurt with ankle locks, heel hooks, etc

Leave a Reply

