BJJ Burnout

Posted on Updated on

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

It is not as bad as the title suggests, but I have attended only one class a week for the past few weeks and there has been three days that I didn’t do my 30 daily reps of technique (at home) and had to make up for it the following day.

I haven’t lost my drive for BJJ and figure that it is my new work schedule that has thrown my motivation to attend class out of whack. I am usually up by 5 AM and out the door at 5:45. By 6 PM I can feel the chemicals in my brain inducing a non-avoidable sleep. Lately, my wife says I’ve “passed out” in the middle of my sentences when laying on the couch, but I don’t believe her.

This past summer I attended classes in the mornings usually three times a week with no problem. Switching to nights and just going once a week has become a mental struggle. I figure I will let this be my last week of slackerhood and then I will come up with a plan.

3 thoughts on “BJJ Burnout

    dan0xii said:
    October 4, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    What techniques do you (normally) do at home? I’m a novice and would be interested in hearing what I could do at home to improve my skill level?

    Thanks in advance.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    October 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I do a number of things:
    Practice throws or takedowns
    Positioning with the heavy bag (side control, mount, north south, etc.)
    Submissions on bag (arm bars, knuckle and ezekiel chokes)
    Guillotines and RNC chokes
    Shrimping
    Bridging
    Rolls (forward, grandby)
    Falls (from knees because I’m doing it on carpet) side, backward, front)
    Imaginary guard passes
    Getting up from the ground

    Essentially, any technique that I can reasonably perform without a partner. I even created a grappling dummy that drove my wife crazy.

    neijia said:
    October 4, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    You have to tell us more about how to make the dummy in a post. Anyway, I experience the same burnout with martial arts in general. I also think it may be due in part to a long day and not wanting to train in the evening. However, I haven’t really made a commitment to myself to train 365 days a year. Maybe one day off per week is a good idea, though.

Leave a Reply

