Jiu-Jitsu & Back to Work

Posted on Updated on

Well, classes have resumed at my college and I’m teaching again. It has been hard re-adjusting to working after vacationing for 3 1/2 months. I know, poor me…

I made it to BJJ once this week as I am getting used to my new schedule. However, on the night I did go I had a good time. We reviewed how to take someone’s back from half-guard and perform either a ‘Billy Jack’ or ‘The Twister. ‘ During sparring I tapped the first guy I rolled with (a newer guy) with a head and arm choke while I had him in my guard.  While I was working the choke, Tony, the new Judo Black belt was walking around giving out pointers. When I first sunk in the choke he told me to squeeze harder because my opponent wasn’t giving up. So I did.  He held out for a while, then tapped. Then he stood up and started holding his throat. Tony asked him what was wrong and he said his windpipe hurt. I normally let go when a person is being stubborn about a choke, so I felt bad about it. However, in this art you can’t be stubborn in these areas or you will end up hurting yourself or others. He was okay after a minute though.

The next guy I rolled with immediately tried to do a jump spinning armbar from his knees. I pulled back and then pinned him to the ground and achieved side control. After I put him in side control he said, “That’s all I have.” He then pointed and told me that another guy had just tapped him out with a similar move and he wanted to try it on me. I spent the next two rounds instructing him on takedowns from the knees, guard passing and how to achieve the mount from side-control.

More on that in the next post….

2 thoughts on “Jiu-Jitsu & Back to Work

    neijia said:
    August 29, 2008 at 8:46 am

    LOL on “that’s all I have”. I’ve often felt that way. I try a few moves and if they don’t work, I’m stuck. Like a new chess player who only knows how to move the pawn. Haha. Well, not so much now after some lessons but I can still relate to that guy’s statement.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 29, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    He had me frightened for a second though. It was an intense attempt at a submission.

Leave a Reply

