Outstanding News: Black Belt Magazine published my Article

Posted on Updated on

Great News!! This weekend I found out that Black Belt Magazine published an article (September/2008) I wrote concerning exploratory research I conducted on what percentage of “fights” actually go to the ground. I bumped into a forum on the net where people I never heard of were having in-depth discussions about me and the article and it was surreal.

After I went to Black Belt Magazine’s  website to make sure it was real, I noticed that my article title made the front cover at the very top. It was 10 PM but I hopped into my jeep and drove to the nearby Books-A-Million and scooped up a few copies. Sure enough, just as on the web, my article’s title was featured at the top of the cover and featured on page 92. On the website it states:

FEATURES

GROUNDED IN REALITY

A Ph.D. studied videos of 300 street fights and analyzed them for lessons that will benefit all martial artists.

Black Belt Magazine is a magazine that I used to really enjoy as a child and teenager and who would have thought that I would be published in it one day. This is not my profession, so it took me by surprise.  When in communication with Black Belt, I was still teaching at my former college. So when they decided to publish it, they had no way of contacting me, using my old email address. I’m glad I found it.

If BJJ  and Mixed Martial Arts would have been around when I was a kid, even a teenager, I probably would have been in MMA instead of being an academic. Maybe not. But it sure is an honor to have them publish my work.

12 thoughts on “Outstanding News: Black Belt Magazine published my Article

    grappledunk said:
    August 6, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Congrats on getting published!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 6, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks Grappledunk….

    Steve said:
    August 6, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I remember reading about your research months ago. Congratulations! Well deserved, to be sure. I’ll have to pick up a copy myself. 🙂

    neijia said:
    August 6, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    wow, congrats! that was a great article. good to see it get wide distribution. more to come, hopefully!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 6, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I appreciate it Steve.

    Yeah, the whole process from conception to publication took about 10 months…

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 6, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Many thanks Neijia..

    I do have a couple of ideas I am considering….

    Ricky Gamboa said:
    August 8, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Congratulations! Keep it up!

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    August 8, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Will do!

    Thanks Ricky….

    AlexM said:
    August 12, 2008 at 1:23 am

    cool

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 12, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Thanks Alex…

    forlogos said:
    August 12, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Very nice – congratulations!!!

    I’m gonna remember to look it up in the newsstands…

    jiujitsu365 said:
    August 13, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Thanks forlogos….

Leave a Reply

