Back in the groove….and a question to all.

Posted on Updated on

After missing three classes of BJJ due to traveling I was able to jump right in without getting too tired. Fatigue didn’t set in until sparring. This time we added a variation to our shrimping drills in the beginning. We practiced shrimping on the wall. Which we later used as a technique while working with the x-guard. We practiced another sweep with the x-guard leading to side control and then using x-guard to establish a triangle.

After that I rolled with another guy (Ant) who usually attends night classes. We started from standup and I was able to quickly take him down with a controlled hip throw and established side control. From there we pretty much went back and forth for about 10 minutes. I was able to incorporate a lot of the moves that I have been learning since I arrived here and I can see that I am becoming a lot more technical. I also was able to reverse his mount position by slapping on a body lock and bridging to my side.

I did, however, have one thought while grappling though. I had on a gi and he had on a rash guard and shorts. While I had to work with gripping his arms and torso, he constantly used my gi and collar. I have very little experience grappling with the gi on in BJJ so it put me at a disadvantage. I will be fine because I need to learn how to defend (he tapped me in the end with an armbar) but what do you guys normally do when you are grappling no-gi and the other person has on a gi? Do you also wrestle them ‘no-gi style’ or do you use their gi to your advantage?

6 thoughts on “Back in the groove….and a question to all.

    Steve said:
    July 14, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Good question. If it’s a brand new guy who doesn’t own a gi, I let him do whatever he needs to do.

    If it’s a guy who’s been around, It’s case by case. Usually, I’ll take my jacket and belt off and roll no-gi with him.

    Bronson said:
    July 14, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    In my experience, you have take the gi off if you don’t want your opponent to grab it. The guy without the gi in this case is definitely at an advantage.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 15, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Thanks Steve and Bronson,

    I think you guys are right. If I don’t want to be put at an unfair advantage I should take it off..

    Elyse said:
    July 15, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I like the disadvantage. It makes you no-gi game that much stronger when you have to struggle against someone else’s advantage for a while.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 15, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Yeah Elyse,

    In the long run it will help me out, that’s why I never develop and ego over such things….

    blairturton said:
    July 17, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Yeah, I don’t think it is fair to mix that way. There is any number of chokes (clock choke, x choke, baseball choke, etc.) that he can do to you using your own collar. Not to mention the fact that his wrist control by grabbing your sleeve is going to be much better then you grabbing just his wrist. I say either take off the gi, or at least come to an understanding that he wont use it against you. For example in my No-Gi class i roll in my gi pants, i like the fact that i get better traction on my knees in them, but because you are not supposed to grab shorts or fabric in a No-Gi class people leave them alone. The other thing to consider is the rules of any tournaments you may want to try some day. If you want to enter a No-Gi tournament you should probably get used to not wearing it.

Leave a Reply

