Class was Shrimptastic!!

Posted on Updated on

I missed last Friday’s class due to a trip out of town and will miss this Friday as well, so I was a little less prepared for warm-ups this Monday. We often begin our warm-ups wth a lot shrimping, but this class it felt like it lasted an eternity. Although toward the end I believed I worked out a kink in my shrimping technique.

Today in class we worked on how to counter someone when they block your scissor sweep (from the guard) by inserting their elbow in. The counter ultimately led to a triangle. Consequently, we also worked on triangle techniques. Including a variation where you can use your own arm as a lever to increase the squeeze when your opponent pulls their arm out.

Today in class I discussed with Smiley (lead instructor) and Big K my hesistancy in applying pressure to some submissions (e.g., knee-bars, shoulder locks and any submission where carelessness could lead to serious injury). I know that I also have to work on technique, but I also notice that I am hypersensitive at certain points even when practicing technique slowly. Smiley compared it to Judo and stated that to hesitate on certain throws actually endangers your partner, which I can attest to. In Judo, sometimes you can have a person go too slowly because they are afraid to hurt you and it feels worse to be thrown by them. I don’t want to fall in that category. Smiley also told me about a guy who was 265 lbs and was very hesistant to apply techniques on many smaller opponents. He accidently broke another student’s ankle by not properly carrying through on a technique because he was afraid to follow through.

I need to be careful, but I also need to follow through properly so I don’t injure myself and others…

As far as sparring is concerned, I am using my gi now and I am being trounced.

It is a totally different world between gi and no-gi.

4 thoughts on “Class was Shrimptastic!!

    BJJquest said:
    July 3, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    hey bakari you inspired me to start my own blog. I am starting over at jaxbjj and when I healup will swing into smileys for some no gi training. congrats to your instructor I heard he won the purple belt at the jaxbjj open. someone told me he is like 6’5′ 290 is that true! Good lord.

    BJJquest said:
    July 3, 2008 at 5:21 pm
    BJJquest said:
    July 3, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    this is my blog just fyi. Keep up the good work!
    http://bjjquest.blogspot.com/

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 3, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Hello BJJquest,

    Thanks and congrats on starting your new blog.

    Yeah, stop by and check it out, it’s a laid back atmosphere but I always learn a lot and have a challenging workout.

    Our instructor, Smiley, is a pretty big guy, I don’t know how tall he is, but he’s over 6 ft and he’s about 270 (no flab).

Leave a Reply

