“Damn Good Rollin!”

Posted on Updated on

Yesterday (Monday) we worked on three sweeps and an omoplata all from the spider guard. Nothing out of the ordinary as far as that goes. However, as I explained in earlier posts I am picking up a lot of technical information pretty quickly.

At the end of class I rolled with Big K (blue belt) again and this time we rolled for a pretty long time before he was able to obtain the tap (over 10 minutes). I was less tired so I was able to put up a good fight. I have absoulutely pinned down the fact that endurance effects my game. When I have a lot of it, I stay out of trouble pretty easily with most people. However, when it begans to wane I can literally feel myself giving up good positioning and I end up getting submitted. This time via triangle. However, at the end Big K sat up and said, “That was some good rollin’. Damn good rollin’!”

Note: As I have been doing this for about 3 years now and have trained in a few different places I am beginning to actually ‘see’ and experience the journey of being a BJJ practicioner. I am beginning to fully realize the different styles of teaching different schools have, the different games their members play and how each adds value to my BJJ.  This is the third school I have trained in and I have been a guest in other acadamies as well. Not as many as some of the hardcore BJJ, MMA and submission grappling guys but I am starting to recognize I am on a ‘path.’

2 thoughts on ““Damn Good Rollin!”

    Steve said:
    June 24, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Sounds like a good class. It’s funny how things work sometimes. I’m going through something similar right now. We’re doing really long stretches of up to 20 or 25 minutes per match. While endurance is definitely a big part of it, I’m really starting to discover pacing and combinations. I tend to be unwilling to give up a deep triangle or armbar, and will spend a lot of energy fighting for the submission. But in long matches, I’m really learning to pace myself and flow more, transitioning through combinations. It’s made a big difference for me.

    As for training in other schools, I’m looking forward to a business trip out to Baltimore. I think I’ll have at least one evening to drop in at Baltimore BJJ.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 24, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I agree. Pacing has saved me many times.

    One of the things that bothers me most about losing energy while grappling is that I can see or feel what they guy is trying to do, but I am too tired to stop it. It is not a problem with ‘wind’ but muscle endurance for me. Yet, I know as long as I keep going it will increase.

    That visit to Baltimore BJJ should be cool. If you go, I’ll look forward to reading about it.

Leave a Reply

