Protect Your Mouth at all Times…

Posted on Updated on

Class went well on Friday. We worked on re-establishing the guard after a person passes your guard. I’ve seen people do the 360 degree roll to regain guard, but this is the first time that I have practiced it. One of the good things about Smiley’s MMA (Combat Athletix) is that the moves are broken down in parts and we practice the moves in chunks leading up until the full technique.

However, toward the end of drilling, my drilling partner, Big K, accidentally kneed me in the mouth. He told me that he heard it. I didn’t hear it but I felt it as it connected with my lips, teeth and jawbone. I tried to shake it off and play it off like it didn’t hurt like I normally do, but I had to collect myself a little this time. Once we resumed, Big K soon told me that I was bleeding. It turns out that I had bit through my lip on the inside and outside.

Once I nursed it a little, needless to say I put in my mouthpiece. I have recently started the dirty habit of not putting it in until I spar at the end of class, but I will put it in from the beginning of class from now on.

After that, Big K ran a tap clinic on me for about 10 minutes. I was able to use the guard pass that we learned from the previous class with relative ease and for the first 2 minutes or so I was pretty acrobatic, passing the guard, spinning to north-south, but soon I fatigued and Big K had his way with me.

My endurance is building up and I am getting used to the training format so soon I think I will be able to carry energy all the way into the sparring sessions so I can perform the way I know I can.

Until next time… 

5 thoughts on “Protect Your Mouth at all Times…

    Trey said:
    June 22, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve been thinking about going to a mouthpiece since I sometimes catch a stray elbow or knee during class. I haven’t because things like ear guards for cauliflower ear avoidance and shields to protect broken noses are looked at as unmanly in my class. Still, I had a similar incident recently and it took weeks to heal.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    June 22, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    I haven’t had something like that happen in a while and usually it just a ding and I can keep rolling, so I can understand the hesitation.

    However, I like my teeth and would prefer not having non surgical nose alterations, so from now on safety is the key for me.

    Bronson said:
    June 25, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Trey, are you serious? It sounds like you’re training with macho shitheads. I’ve had blood sucked out of my ears due to cauliflower ear and I wear headgear every time they start to feel sore again. I also wear a mouth guard during live rolling, but not usually for class.

    At my gym, we always assume someone has a reason for wearing any kind of gear. I think that’s the right way to go.

    Justin said:
    July 10, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I have learned this same lesson. Got my mouth mashed by an accidental headbutt during drilling, now I never forget to put in my mouthguard from the begining of class.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 12, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Sometimes experience is the best teacher….

Leave a Reply

