Gi Madness!!!!

Posted on

I wore the gi for the first time this Wednesday. I hadn’t worn one since December of last year and that was for one day at Jax BJJ. I wasn’t ready for the increase in temperature (at least 10 to 15 degrees) and felt sluggish the entire session after the warm-up. However, I’ve experienced it before with Judo and know that it’s only temporary.

We worked on a Granby Roll, a guard pass drill where the man on the bottom has to hold on to his belt and not use his hands while the other person tries to pass and also another slick way of passing the guard. Class was relatively small today with about six people and after about an hour most of the class had to leave (probably for work, etc.). I worked out with the same blue belt that tapped me out last time (Big K) and he taught me a lot of defenses to side control.

I am really enjoying these classes and feel as if my knowledge is increasing at warp speed. We cover a lot of different techniques but also have ample time to drill each one. There is a good balance between warming up, technique and drilling and grappling at the end.

2 thoughts on “Gi Madness!!!!

    Steve said:
    June 19, 2008 at 11:38 am

    The gi takes a little getting used to. What kind of gi did you end up with? My favorite (by far) is the Gameness Pearl. It’s lightweight and has worn like a champ so far.

    Glad you found a good school.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    June 19, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thanks Steve,

    I am still using my Mike Swain Judo gi. It is as good as new. However, I think I may look into a lighter weight gi, like you mentioned. Especially for the Florida heat and humidity….

Leave a Reply

