Friday’s Class: 4th Session Overall: X-guard

Posted on Updated on

I have had a total of four sessions since I started attenting Smiley’s MMA (Combat Athletix). For the first time in a while I feel a real sense of progression. Being able to train more than twice a week makes me feel as if I can achieve a lot more. I think it has been over two years since I have trained at least three times in one week (at an academy).

In class we worked on the x-guard again. We concentrated on a few sweeps and an arm bar from the x-guard. Smiley had to show me a few variations on the sweeps, etc., because for some reason I couldn’t do it exactly the way he demonstrated it. Smiley attributed it to body types as every one eventually has there own unique way of performing movements. I think my flexibility hinders me the most. 

When it was time to roll I felt I performed a lot better. I was able to obtain a takedown and gain positional dominance on the first partner I rolled with. I was taller (3 inches) and heavier (50 lbs)though. I was able to pull off a grapevine reversal from the guard and switch from side control to mount pretty successfully. However, I am noticing that I am having a little bit of a problem in gaining the submission even when I am able to dominate positionally. He defended against my mount chokes and kept me from obtaining his back even after I gained an underhook from the lockdown.

After grappling with him, a blue belt asked me to show him some takedowns. I showed him a number of techniques I use to take people down. It was a little different for me because I had to actually think about what I do to achieve a takedown. After a while takedowns become second nature and a lot of it has to do with timing and balance. What may seem impossible to achieve is pretty easy if the person you want to throw is in the right stance or slightly off-balance and that is what is hard to convey.

After that, I rolled with the same blue belt and we went for quite a bit of time before he was able to get a double arm bar. I felt pretty safe in his guard and from escaping his previous arm bar attempts I thought I was safe. The last time I was double armbarred was about 3 years ago. I will have to start being more cautious in that area (and less cocky).

Until next time….

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Class: 4th Session Overall: X-guard

    forlogos said:
    June 18, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    That’s great about BJJ, there’s always an ego/cockiness check every once in a while….and that’s how we progress

    Overall, it sounds like you’re having a great time over there…that’s great to hear!!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 19, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Thanks….

    Yeah, BJJ can humble you very quickly. There’s nothing like screaming, Tap!, Tap!, Tap! loudly in a crowded room because you can’t use your arms and your legs are helplessly sprawled behind you….

Leave a Reply

