Pendulum Sweep with Armbar

Posted on Updated on

Jiujitsu365: In my last academy (I am looking forward to Jacksonville now.), the assistant instructor used to achieve this pendulum sweep as well as corresponding armbar on many people, including me. He used to do all of the motions simultaneously so it took me a while to figure out the complete move.

After a few times of being submitted, I instinctively began to avoid propping up on one foot while trying to pass his guard. While reviewing the Renzo and Royler Gracie’s book, Brazilian Jiu-jitsu – Theory and Technique, I finally saw the full technique, which helped me to fully defend it.

The above video reviews the technique.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

Leave a Reply

