Kazushi Sakuraba: Slapping on the Kimura

Posted on Updated on

Kazushi Sakuraba always posed a significant threat in PRIDE and it pains me to see that he continues to fight way past his prime. But who I am I to tell someone to stop doing what they love to do and also pays the bills?

Anyway, what made him particularly scary as a fighter was his ability to slap on a Kimura from almost any angle. It made trying to take him down a nightmare. I always wondered how he slapped it on so quickly and I learned how he did it from this video. I believe that he actually wanted to give fighters his back from a sprawl so he could lock a Kimura on.

Brilliant…

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

4 thoughts on “Kazushi Sakuraba: Slapping on the Kimura

    Kacy said:
    May 11, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Are not all fighters scary especially when they can handle them self. I wish my son would take up some form of self defense so I can sleep at night when his out.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    May 12, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I meant he was scary to other fighters. Maybe ‘wary’ would be a better term.

    Not only could he stand with most fighters but he had incredible ground skills.

    As far as self defense is concerned, I think that martial arts gives the practicioner a confidence that others can sense. (Almost like an aura)

    forlogos said:
    May 18, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    that’s a great video – thanks for sharing!

    Rob Enderle said:
    May 23, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Superb video.
    It just pains me that Sakuraba to watch him take offers to serve as fodder to strikers who he cant fend off.. Dont forget that sttrech were he was KOed 7 times in 10 fights.
    There must be some brain damage done….

    It would honor his career and body of work if he could be pitted against BJJ fighters instead of putting him in harm’s way but it seems that the potential for tragedy is enticing.
    The pounding he took in 2002-3 was phenomenal…

    If there was a death pool about which big name MMA fighter will die first in the ring, he would definitely be on many lists.

Leave a Reply

