Ending a Chapter….Ready for a New Beginning

Posted on Updated on

I just finished submitting my grades (online) for the classes I taught this semester. I officially signed out of the college yesterday and don’t have to spend another day on the campus or commuting to that small town. I am ready to move on.

We just returned from J-ville this past Monday and were able to secure the house we wanted in the area we wanted. It is a well planned neighborhood and it has tennis courts, soccer fields, basketball courts, a golf course, gym, water pool park and sidewalks everywhere. I can now convert exercise into a lifestyle instead of a chore.

As a professor, I don’t have to teach over the summer so I will be enjoying myself to the fullest over the next 3 1/2 months before I return to work. This month I will be concentrating on working out at the gym and increasing my endurance, strength and flexibility. After the postponement of the tournament in April I continued the 100 reps a day for about a week before I converted to my 30 reps routine that I had been doing from the beginning.

I have to admit that I have lost some of my drive since the tournament was postponed. I also don’t feel too great about entering tournaments based on live grappling once or twice a week. I have been training on my own doing reps everyday, but I need to train “live” with more regularity.

I can’t wait for this move because I “need” to train and there’s an abundance available where I am going. May 15, 2008 will be the sixth month anniversary of this J365 project and I need some more objective measurements.  I know that I have improved in many ways but without any stripes or belt improvement, tournaments or regular “live” training  (more than 1 or 2 times a week) it is hard to know.  

2 thoughts on “Ending a Chapter….Ready for a New Beginning

    forlogos said:
    May 18, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    hope all goes well – looking forward to reading more of your blog

    Your new neighborhood sounds awesome!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    May 18, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Man I can’t wait….

    I am hoping I will have more content than I can use.

Leave a Reply

