Where in the world is Jiujitsu365?

Posted on Updated on

JiuJitsu 365: I know some of the guys and gals who read this blog have been wondering what’s up this month. I usually post with more regularity.  Well the ‘skinny’ is that I have been spending the last few weeks trying to find the right home to move into in Jacksonville and have been busy wrapping things up at the college where I work.

For instance, this is my last day teaching here (I was singing, dancing and rapping in my car coming to work). I even noticed pretty flowers (or weeds) on the highway… Now I just have to wrap up about a week and a half of administrative work before I will be through here.

When we move I have identified two likely places that I will train. The first place, Smiley’s Combat Athletix, is about 12 minutes away from the neighborhood where we will be moving to and they offer gi and no-gi BJJ and a host of other disciplines.  They offer BJJ five days a week.

The other, Jax BJJ (An official Gracie Barra academy), is located about 7 minutes from the college where I will be working and get this, they have morning Jiu-jitsu (open mat) five days a week from 10:30 AM to 12 PM. As a professor, I at least have two or three mornings where I could comfortably work that into my schedule so I am stoked. I wouldn’t mind getting my BJJ fix early in the morning and spending time with the wife in the afternoons. (Oh yeah, Smiley’s has three morning BJJ classes too at 11AM).

I love no-gi so I will definitely train at Combat Athletix, but I also desperately want to train with the gi (at Jax BJJ ) not only for growth in the art but also to see where I line up in the spectrum of BJJ. Sometimes I think I am pretty good and other times, not so much…

Anyway, that’s what’s going on and I’ll keep you posted…

5 thoughts on “Where in the world is Jiujitsu365?

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    April 27, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Speaking of searching around for a school, I’m getting closer too. I’m going to have probably too many good options to choose from…

    In a related area, is 2x/week enough frequency for a rank beginner to progress well in BJJ? If not, what is enough? 3x/wk? More?

    I’ve heard in a few places that 2x/week is still good, especially for a rank bjj beginner like me. That would also keep my cost down and not cut in to my paid job, phd work, etc.

    Kath said:
    April 27, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Good luck in your house hunting expedition – once you are settled in it will help you to focus on the right school to choose.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    April 27, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    FuzzyDunlop,

    It’s good that you are getting ready to take the plunge.

    Although it would be preferable to train more than twice a week, people can still make improvements. When I first began, I went three times a week for seven months straight without a break and I progressed pretty rapidly.

    Where I currently train, two times a week still helps me to stay involved in BJJ and I have learned a lot. However, I knew that I would eventually migrate to a place where I could train three to five times a week.

    Other factors to consider is that if you miss a day because of travel, work, etc., there will be a total of seven days between classes. Further, it depends on how good you are trying to get. Twice a week can help a person become competent but they will most likely never be able to blaze through opponents in a competition.

    Age and recovery time is also an issue. Twice a week is probably all some people want to deal with. Even though I want to train five times a week, I suspect that I will not be upset with myself if I train four times a week…

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    April 27, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks Kath,

    I believe you are right. Once we are settled in the right choice will become obvious. But I do like the fact that I have so many options:)

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    April 27, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    That’s good info. I had actually planned on aiming for 3x/week, so knowing how that compares with 2x is really helpful. One of the places that seems in striking distance as a lot of classes, so I may be able to do even more, depending on other committments.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

