“You’ve Improved a Lot Since the Last Time We Rolled.”

Posted on Updated on

“You’ve improved a lot since the last time we rolled.” 

Those are the words my head instructor said to me last Thursday. We had a good ten minute roll before he tapped me with a triangle. (Although I am convinced he could have tapped me earlier.) He said it with enthusiasm, so I was glowing inside, even if I looked calm outside. I would have to check my past posts, but I think it has been at least three months since we last rolled. More than anything I think he was complimenting my ability to defend because I was on the defense for the majority of the time. I also believe my Jiu-jitsu365 project contributed to my improvement.

Class went well as we continued to work on sweeps from the guard. I also had a chance to closely observe Big J roll (6’6 200+) with Big Man (6’6 280). Even though Big Man could gain the dominant position at will, Big J managed to tap him out every few minutes. I noticed that Big J continually attacked Big Man’s arms and neck.

So when I rolled with Big Man I tried the same strategy. I went for kimuras from the guard. I tried a reverse arm bar when I had his back, etc. He was able to pull out from them but he was on the defense as opposed to offense. He eventually got me to tap a couple times from a neck crank and kimura of his own. However, in a breakthrough for Big Man, he finally approached one of our sessions by sitting in guard as opposed to starting from his knees. That’s a good signal because it demonstrates that he is ready to fully develop his game and make rolls more enjoyable for his sparring partners…..

2 thoughts on ““You’ve Improved a Lot Since the Last Time We Rolled.”

    Kath said:
    April 8, 2008 at 4:02 am

    So those were his words eh. “You’ve improved a lot since the last time we rolled.” Thankfully your blog followers understand where you and your instructor are coming from. Good luck with your rolling.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    April 8, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Thanks Kath,

    It is all about the context….

Leave a Reply

