Good News: Moving to the Big City

Posted on Updated on

I was offered and accepted a position at a college in Jacksonville, FL.

Those who were readers of my previous blog know that I am an assistant professor at a small rural college in Georgia. The college where I teach is in a town that has a population of 5000 residents. The college has 3400 students. In order to keep my sanity I live in a city about 33 miles away that has a population of 50,000. I train in another city at an academy that is 28 miles from where I live.

Well, Jacksonville has the largest land mass of any city in the United States and is 12th in population in the country. This means that there are a lot of people that practice BJJ, submission grappling and MMA. So far I have located five academies that offer BJJ with the gi and one that offers no-gi BJJ along with MMA. I also found a judo club that offers 4 sessions a week.

Further, not only does a majority of my family live there, Jacksonville also offers many cultural, social, professional and economic opportunities that I can take advantage of.

Now, I can send my BJJ training in to hyperdrive. I can finally train with the gi, train at a location closer to my home, train at earlier times and more times per week. I can also sneak in some Judo training….

12 thoughts on “Good News: Moving to the Big City

    FightWorks Podcast said:
    March 28, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Congrats on the new gig! Let us know which school you settle on!

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    March 28, 2008 at 10:09 am

    As a fellow academic and jits wannabe, let me say, that totally rocks! Having gone onto the market before, I know how tough it is to get a job, let alone a job in a place you’ll be happy living. Bringing in family connections and extracurriculars is icing on the cake.

    Your hard work paid off–enjoy!

    Steve said:
    March 28, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Congratulations.

    teddy said:
    March 28, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Outstanding! That’s great news!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks Guys…

    and to Fight Works (Caleb): Will do……

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 28, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    FuzzyDunlop,

    You are absolutely right. It’s rare that the planets align in academic job searches.

    I’m excited about it….

    neijia said:
    March 29, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Congratulations! I am envious of all the training you will get. Your comment on judo is funny because I have the same sort of feeling but from the other direction. I want to study more judo and sneak in bjj. Lol. Someone should coin a shorthand term for studying them together.

    dannicus said:
    March 29, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Very excited to hear about your new experiences. Congrats

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 30, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Thanks Dannicus and Neija….

    Neija,
    The way things are going I think eventually Judokas will probably begin to focus a lot more on groundfighting anyway. Hopefully BJJ academies will follow suit with allowing more time for the study of takedowns….

    Kitwana said:
    March 30, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Bakari,

    Congrats! We haven’t told the kids yet. You guys can tell them when you come in April for the tournament. They are really going to be excited.

    forlogos said:
    April 13, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Congratulations!!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    April 13, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks forlogos….

Leave a Reply

