Jiu-Jitsu Dream – Dana White and Purple Belts

Posted on Updated on

I had a dream Saturday night that I was sleeping in a Japanese style dojo. I wake suddenly (in the dream) and  hear voices in the next room talking about promoting someone to purple belt. All of a sudden Dana White bursts into my room holding a white gi and a blue belt. He barks out that I need to hurry up and get dressed because they were promoting me to a purple belt.

When I woke up, I reasoned that the dream represented me breaking through a plateau. Not that I am purple belt worthy, but that I am about to break through either a mental block or increase in technical ability.

I am anxious to see what happens….

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

7 thoughts on “Jiu-Jitsu Dream – Dana White and Purple Belts

    Kacy said:
    March 24, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Dreams can come true

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    March 25, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Classic! Good luck with the breakthrough. It sounds like mentally/emotionally you are ready.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 25, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I appreciate the comments guys.

    I think your right FuzzyDunlop. Mentality and emotions play a huge role in BJJ and its what keeps us practicing….

    fred reyes said:
    March 19, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Awww the purple belt! I got my purple belt and felt like every other purple belt was dominating me. I guess after being the top blue belt in my academy for a while and every once in a while spanking some purples I am now at the bottom of the purple belt food chain. Every blue belt wants to beat u to prove they are also worthy of purple and every purple belt wants to prove to u that they are better than u in the purple belt division! Welcome to mental block… now its time to study jiu jitsu more, work more on flexibility, and learn more concepts. Its tough but just keep focusing on perfecting ur technique. As for dana white promoting u to purple? Hmmmm strange but humorous at the same time….

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 20, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Fred,

    I never did figure out the meaning of that dream. I was a white belt at the time and I am a blue belt now. But you’re right, blue belts want to tap purple belts and vice versa, albeit for different reasons.

    William said:
    January 10, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Everyone wants to tap everyone.

      jiujitsu365 said:
      January 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Of course they do. However, a Purple belt is more pleased when he taps a brown or black belt than another purple, blue or white. And it lets a person know where they stand. Besides, I know I can tap Blue and White Belts without problems so I often do not look for taps with them and just work on techniques.

Leave a Reply

