Chuck Liddell: IceMan’s book was a page turner.

Posted on Updated on

When I first saw the Iceman book I didn’t know what to think. A lot of these books can be either really good or the complete opposite. This turned out to be a very good book.

Chuck Liddell does a good job of letting the reader get into his psyche and describing what made him the person he is today. Each chapter is full of personal stories and examples of events in his life. I like the fact that he offers the reader a lesson  (sort of a parable) in each chapter.

I bought the book on a Friday and I finished it by Monday night (last week). It was a page turner and had a good flow.

One of his pieces of advice really grabbed my attention. In his fight against Randy Couture he discussed Randy “locking” on to him and taking him down. He wrote; “I thought Big John would seperate us, but he didn’t make a move. Instead I kept working to release myself. That’s all you can do when you are locked up like that, work and work, so the other guy has to worry about tying you down instead of hitting you. It’s one of the hardest, least glamorous, least rewarding acts you do in a fight. But if you don’t you’ll leave yourself vulnerable.”

For those of you who know of my battles with Big Man (former wrestler) in my class this is great advice. I give the book an A or two thumbs up!!

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

2 thoughts on “Chuck Liddell: IceMan’s book was a page turner.

    Trey Whitaker said:
    March 17, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Thanks for the review on this book. I’d passed it a few times in airports and stores. I even picked it up and thumbed through the pages but wasn’t sure whether it would be worthwhile. Your review has convinced me to give it a shot.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 18, 2008 at 9:31 am

    No problem…

    I hope you enjoy it…..

Leave a Reply

