Class Again: Takedowns and Tournament Prep

Posted on Updated on

Last night I found out that the team is going to a tournament next weekend. On the 22nd of March. I don’t know if I am going to go to this one since I am preparing to go to one on the 12th of April. However, it is very tempting.

Last night we worked on takedowns and sparred for three – four minute rounds using tournament scoring. We also did a takedown round robin where the guy who takes his sparring partner down stays in the circle. I stayed in three times before getting reversed on a takedown attempt.

This morning I woke up with a sore knee and my jaw muscles hurt all night so I am glad I have the weekend to rest……

4 thoughts on “Class Again: Takedowns and Tournament Prep

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    March 20, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Quick question–I’m looking to find BJJ instruction in the city I’m moving to, but none of the schools there have their prices online.

    Schools elsewhere that do list prices seem to range from $60-120/mo. Any idea what the average class cost should be on the East Coast, in a major city?

    I’m having a hard time getting any of the schools to reply to my emails, let alone give me a price quote…

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    March 21, 2008 at 11:27 am

    And a related question:

    Why is BJJ instruction so friggin expensive?

    Judo in the same area runs about $65/mo, but it seems that nationwide BJJ classes run around $100-150/mo for a similar class schedule.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 24, 2008 at 8:46 am

    FuzzyDunlop,

    I wish that I could help answer that question. I think that many of the schools are so expensive because quality instruction and qualified instructors are hard to find, especially outside of major cities. Many of them do not have competitors to bring the prices down.

    Many places seem to want you to come in and become psychologically hooked first before they provide you with sticker shock. However, $60 to 120 seems to be in the right range for many of the schools I have come in contact with or have researched.

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    March 24, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Thanks. I had the same feeling as you did about sticker shock. It’s just annoying since I don’t need to be hooked, I just need to budget!

    But thanks for the guidelines and I did get quick feedback from one school and quoted the $100 range.

Leave a Reply

