How far do you travel to train?

Posted on Updated on

Lately I have been dreading driving at night to my BJJ class. My training facility is located 30 miles away in another city and my class starts at 8PM. To many people that may not seem far. However, I work in another city altogether different from where I live as well. That city is 33 miles away. After driving to and from work, running errands and then driving to and from BJJ I log about 140 miles.

I think this affects my willingness to train. I recently had a day off on the same day as training and I had no problem gearing up to go to BJJ. However, on work days I start thinking about the drive as soon as I get up in the morning.

How far do you guys have to drive or ride transport to get to class and does it have an effect on your training?

9 thoughts on “How far do you travel to train?

    teddy said:
    March 7, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Luckily I can walk to Hollywood BJJ. It’s about 1.5 miles away. I actually chose my apartment based on proximity to the academy. The other school I go to is Minnesota Martial Arts Academy. That’s about a 45 minute drive which can turn into a 90 minute drive when the weather is bad.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 7, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Ouch on the 90 minute drive!

    I’m glad that I’ve heard someone else say that they chose their housing to be near their training. I am seriously considering doing that when I relocate….

    Steve said:
    March 7, 2008 at 11:44 am

    My school is 10 miles from my house, about 20 minutes drive each way. We’re very lucky that way.

    One of the guys who trains with us drives from Bremerton every day. That’s easily a 90 minute drive with traffic, an hour without.

    I find that podcasts get me through the driving times… Caleb’s Fightworkspodcast, Fight Opinion, and the sherdog podcasts (in that order, usually). I actually look forward to the quiet time in the car when I can just listen to those.

    foos said:
    March 7, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I live about three blocks from my school. I walk there. Yes, I know I am very, very lucky.

    FightWorks Podcast said:
    March 7, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    In the past when I lived in the DC area I had to drive up to 35 minutes one way to go train in the evenings (DC traffic stinks).

    I am lucky that these days for me in San Diego it’s never more than 15 minutes.

    And I’m listening to podcasts the whole time too, like Steve!

    slideyfoot said:
    March 8, 2008 at 6:03 am

    I shift between a long and a not so long journey, due to spending part of the week in Birmingham, the rest working in London. If I’m coming in from Brum, I’ll leave the flat at around 15:20 to get to training at around 18:50 (I like to get there early – actually starts at 19:30). If I’m coming in from work, then its more like half an hour (Farringdon to Westbourne Park is fairly easy, straight down the Hammersmith & City line, then either a walk or the no.23 bus).

    Of course, transport in and into London is notoriously erratic, so I’ve missed training due to trains messing up a few times – thankfully my habit of getting there early has limited that occasional irritation to severe delays.

    However, I take the train, so can read a book. Podcasts are for getting me through work – Fightworks Podcast, No Holds Barred with Eddie Goldman, Fight Opinion, the Berkeley Webcasts and History According to Bob. Sometimes I’ll have a listen to the Rhinocast, or The Ongoing History of New Music. 🙂

    Dan said:
    March 8, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I drive 25 minutes to the gym Monday-Friday. On work days, if I feel a bit sore or achey, sometimes it’s easy to say, ugh, I don’t want to make the drive. But on my days off, I hit the gym, no excuses.

    Trey said:
    March 9, 2008 at 6:58 am

    My dojo is about 20 miles from my house but I’m usually heading there straight from work for the 7 PM class. That makes the drive about 25 miles.

    I use my Jeep as transport from work and stop at my parent’s enroute to change as my dojo has no facilities for this. My parent’s on keen on this idea since it means I visit a couple times during the week.

    Like others noted above, I also try to hit the gym on my of days. I have a Gold’s Gym only a couple blocks from my office building and a treadmill wedged into the basement near the furnace.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 10, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Thanks guys for all of the comments….

    It’s a little hard to complain when you hear of Crosschoke and Steve’s friend traveling 90 minutes (with traffic) and Slideyfoot’s 3 1/2 hour journeys….

Leave a Reply

