Thoughts on Final Episode of “Fight Quest”

Posted on Updated on

Jiujitsu365: I did my best to make sure that I didn’t write too many posts on Fight Quest. I wanted to make sure that it had something to do with grappling before I did again. Luckily Kajukenbo had some submission wrestling so I can talk about it.

It seemed as if they tried to make it appear as if this was their final trip from around the world. However, just before Doug’s fight, Jimmy stated that Doug only had one amateur fight and he didn’t know how he would do. At this point, we all know that Doug had proven himself many times.

Also, Doug was a little too hyped for this event. He predicted that someone was going to get knocked out. In the hotel, where they provided their thoughts on the training, he was a little too over the top in his anticipation of the fight and of the training.

I thought it was a good episode overall. Although, my wife, who happened to be passing by on the scene where Jimmy got jumped thought it was ‘cheesy.’ As a recovering martial artist, I am beginning again to understand why martial arts as a whole has always had my attention. Plus, I think Fight Quest also highlighted some weaknesses of BJJ if the fighter didn’t respect the danger of other fighting styles. I think the tendency of both Jimmy and Doug to fall back on their BJJ, Muy Thai and boxing hurt them in certain situations. Unfortunately, Jimmy found out through an elbow to the back in this episode.

From looking at the opening credits, it appears that there is a lot more to come from the guys of Fight Quest. I will definitely tune in again….

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

One thought on “Thoughts on Final Episode of “Fight Quest”

    Tay said:
    September 24, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Hey Guys!
    Discovery Channel is showing two NEW episodes this Friday night (9/23)! Fight Quest: Thailand is on Friday night at 9PM and Fight Quest: India is on at 10PM. They’re also showing repeats on Wednesdays during the day at 12pm and 1pm.

Leave a Reply

