Traveling, but keeping pace….

Posted on Updated on

I will be traveling often these next few weeks (academic job hunt, weddings, etc..). However, I have maintained the 100 reps a day regimen I set up last week. The positions that I have applied for and that have responded to me are in cities that have plenty of BJJ and submission grappling academies. That is one of the quality of life issues that is very important to me.

I am still looking forward to the tournament (April 12th), but I am wary of losing class time. I have to stay in rolling shape and be ready for a tournament pace. I know the 100 reps regiment will not be enough.

I’ll figure something out though…

4 thoughts on “Traveling, but keeping pace….

    Steve said:
    February 27, 2008 at 1:01 am

    You aren’t lying about competition pace. Five minutes is forever in a tournament! Good luck finding a better position.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 27, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Thanks Steve.

    I feel good about the job search right now.

    On the competition front though, I have this internal sensor that’s telling me I need to get in better shape and the sooner the better.

    FuzzyDunlop said:
    February 29, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Love this site and your academic blog as well. I’m at the tail end of my PhD and looking to start up BJJ/MMA training in the near future.

    I agree, it is certainly something to keep in mind while on the job market.

    Best of luck on your search!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 1, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Thank you for the compliments and well wishes.

    Congratulations on your progression on the Ph.D.

    It is also good to know that someone is reading my academic blog. I guess I should start posting again.

Leave a Reply

