BJJ and the Stability Ball

Posted on Updated on

I have finally used a stability ball (my wife’s) as a part of BJJ training. In the past, I have seen a few videos with guys describing the benefits of using it for BJJ, but it never prompted me to act. I tried it out Saturday night just to see what would happen.

It truly does require balance, timing and coordination. A few times, I found myself rolling faster than anticipated and crashing to the floor. The guide it came with, says that it “trains the body in functional movement; helps balance; strengthens the core; promotes flexibility; and stabilizes the spine, etc…

I can’t vouch for any of that yet, but I can see how my ground game, in terms of mobility and agility could improve if I used it enough.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

2 thoughts on “BJJ and the Stability Ball

    hywelteague said:
    March 5, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Haha another BJJ guy who has discovered the wonders of using exercise balls!

    Have you seen my stab ball video?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    March 6, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Good video Hywel,

    It’s good to see some other techniques for working on the stability ball. I need to add some more techniques besides the one where I constantly fall to the ground.

Leave a Reply

