Training Chart: Preparing for Tournament

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

I want to participate in the April 12th tournament in Jacksonville, so I need to alter my training regimen. After a week of knowing about the tournament I hadn’t changed my routine, at all, of a minimum of 30 reps and attending class until yesterday. I drew up a chart that I will use to prepare for the event.

I am happy with being able to participate, etc., but I would be lying if I said that I didn’t want to do well.

Here is what I came up with. I will attempt to do 10 reps in every category (for 100 total) every day (except class days) unitl the tournament. I completed my first run through yesterday (Sunday) in about 30 minutes with the assistance of my heavy bag and imagined resistance:

Throws: Double overhooks w. leg trip/Overhook, underhook hip throw/Elbow grip, underhook foot sweep/Side step, side step foot sweep/ Tai-otoshi/ Osoto-gari/Ouchi-gari

Takedowns: Ankle pick/Single leg (spin out)/ Double leg/ Bearhug, inside leg trip

Positional Dominance: Mount/Side control/Back mount/ North south/Sprawl

Basic Submissions: Ezekiel choke/Knuckle choke/ Americana/Kimura/Mata leon (RNC)/ Armbars/Guillotine/Triangle/Head and arm triangle/Lock down calf-crush

Guard Defense: Open guard/Butterfly guard/X-guard/Spider guard (only tried once)

Submissions from Guard: Armbars/Kimura/Guillotine

Guard Sweeps: Butterfly guard sweeps/X-guard breakdown/Scissor sweep

Escapes: Side control escapes/Mount escapes/Upa-bridging/Shrimping (both sides)

Guard Passes: (Sorry – I don’t know the names of these techniques) Knee in over thigh to scarf-hold/Grab both legs and throw to side/Gable grip both thighs and toss to side/Bear hug legs and inch upwards/Chicken wing leg – butterfly guard pass

Side Control to Mount: Knee on belly/Hip switch to mount/Create space w/arm to slide knee over/Knee over slide

5 thoughts on “Training Chart: Preparing for Tournament

    supercrap said:
    February 20, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Good idea. I find it really helps to go over situations again and again in your head. What you will do in each position, what your options are.

    I think I will be competing in April, too… good luck!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 20, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Thanks supercrap…

    You’re right. I am just starting to increase my use of visualization as a tool for BJJ. I’ve heard a few BJJ and MMA guys state that use it religiously, including Randy Couture, and it’s helped me the couple of times I’ve tried it.

    My first grappling tournament - Fight Tips said:
    April 22, 2010 at 2:45 am

    […] My first grappling tournament Training Chart: Preparing for Tournament Jiu-jitsu 365 Seems pretty interesting, just replace the jiu jitsu moves with sambo moves. Good luck! […]

    […] Exercises – Over the Holidays and BeyondDo Most Fights Go to the Ground? (Research I conducted)Training Chart: Preparing for Tournament"Heel Twist Mount Escape"Roy Dean's DVD: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu – Blue Belt RequirementsBJJ Car […]

    fotomaton para bodas lorca said:
    September 16, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    I can not speak English very well, but I try to tell you that your blog is great and I loved it. Wear hours browsing the search until I found something like this really worth it. I love it.

Leave a Reply

