90 Days In…..

Posted on Updated on

Well, I’ve been working on my BJJ skills for 90 days straight. How am I doing in terms of progress?

Well, I’m not sure. I know that I have improved in many different areas. However, it is hard for me to judge to what degree. My flexibility and mobility has improved and  I have become more agile. I am better able to dominate my sparring partners positionally. My open guard  and butterfly guard has improved and I have introduced the x-guard to my game. My tap out to being tapped out ratio has improved. I tap people out more than I get tapped out now (at least in my mind). Further, I feel closer to the BJJ world due to this blog and constantly working on techniques even when not in class.

However, even though I am uncertain or at times my growth seems imperceptible, the numbers don’t lie. In 90 days I have performed over 2, 700 reps of BJJ techniques. That has to be good for something even if I can’t always recognize the growth….

6 thoughts on “90 Days In…..

    Kitwana said:
    February 15, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    It seems that you have made considerable progress.

    1. increased flexibility
    2. increased mobility
    3. more agility
    4. dominating opponents
    5. Improved open and butterfly guard
    6. Added x-guard
    7. Improved tap-out ration
    8. consistently blogging on BJJ

    That’s quite a lot. Ask your fellow classmates and sparring partners what they think of your skills progression over the last 90 days. Feedback from others is always valuable when making an assessment.

    Set some measurable goals for the next 90 days and reevaluate your progress.

    Just from reading your blog posts you seem to be really progressing and having a lot of fun with BJJ.

    JiuJitsu365 said:
    February 15, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Thanks Kitwana,

    It does look more impressive in that format and I am enjoying this experience. By blogging, it keeps my musings from just being thoughts passing through.

    I was listening to the fightworks podcast not too long ago and they stressed the same thing you just suggested. Find a way to measure your goals.

    I may have to formulate some sort of tracking system….

    neijia said:
    February 15, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    2700 BJJ techniques??? Wow! How did you count that many discrete techniques? That is pretty fantastic and inspiring. I think I’ve done about 5 judo techniques in the same time period, albeit I can practice at most once per week not 365 days in a row… 😦

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 16, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Oops! A better term for that would probably be 2700 repetitions of BJJ techniques.

    I drill at least 30 repititions a day and the numbers just pile up. I follow a technique through as much as possible without a partner on the days I am not in class. In class, we do multiple reps as well (usually more than 30).

    When I was first comtemplating this project, it seemed shocking how quickly the reps could build up. But after experiencing an immediate change in performance after a few days, I was hooked.

    neijia said:
    February 16, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Ah, excellent. 30 reps a day seems doable. Some people do 30 reps of things like pushups so why can’t I do reps of drills or techniques? Your intensity, love of the art, and dedication is inspiring. I’m going to try to kick things up a notch after reading your post.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 18, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Thanks neijia…

    Yeah, 30 reps is very easy for me, although I am going to kick it up a notch for a tournament I am trying to enter soon…

Leave a Reply

