Drill, Drill, Drill…..and…..Drill some more

Posted on Updated on

Last night we drilled intensively. We worked on three different sequences for the majority of the time we were there. The first sequence involved us breaking out of closed guard and transitioning into a scarf-hold and then transferring to side-control. Then the bottom guy would regain closed guard and then we start over again.

Next, we practiced the scissor sweep, from guard, 15 times to each side. Following that we worked on passing from the half-guard and transitioning to full mount or side control. The technique required us to use our shoulder to turn our opponents head to the side while using the unclasped leg to help release the leg trapped in the half-guard. I always seem to have trouble using my shoulder in that fashion.

After the drills I sparred with a guy in class and I can see that I am still improving with every class. I outweigh him by about 30 pounds but only recently have I been able to maintain a dominant position and tap him out. I was able to use the half-guard escape we had been working on in class and then a choke I observed from the 101 submission guys (I’ll find the vid and post it later.)

I also suprised myself when we were grappling. I pulled his head down and then I leap frogged over his head and then spun around and took his back. I heard him laugh I as leaped over his head. From there I was able to sink in the hooks and eventually get a rear naked choke. However, it wasn’t a one-sided affair. He tapped me with some sort of weird neck crank/choke that I couldn’t figure out.

All in all, class went well….

2 thoughts on “Drill, Drill, Drill…..and…..Drill some more

    bootgun said:
    February 6, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I hate your blog. It is a constant reminder that I should be destroyed for not training.

    JiuJitsu365 said:
    February 6, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    🙂 Thanks!

    Actually, this blog helps me to stay motivated. I know people are watching….

Leave a Reply

