Working on the X-guard

Posted on Updated on

During this Jiujitsu365 project there are a number of different styles of guard that I want to learn. One of them is the x-guard. It has always sounded exotic and I have been fascinated by the concept of being able to do it. Since beginning this project I have been able to improve my open guard as well as add the butterfly guard with a couple of sweeps to my bag of techniques.

This Saturday, I started watching videos to learn how to pull off the x-guard and why it is useful. It seems to be excellent for disrupting your opponents stance if they are standing over you and allows you to take them down in a position advantageous to you. I have an understanding of the technique, but this is definitely a move that requires a partner to grasp the true mechanics.

From watching the video (7 min.)  above, I can now recall some people using the x-guard on me and that I have accidently used it once or twice.

3 thoughts on “Working on the X-guard

    neijia said:
    July 29, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    jj365 – at this moment in time as a bjj beginner, I’m mainly interested in sweeps. I think that basically means open guard of any kind. Which also makes sense because my legs are short and with big (also read: fat) training partners, closed guard is a non starter.

    So I’m not too interested in thinking of guard variations in terms of specific hand and leg formations. I’d like to think in terms of the motion I want to put someone through and use whatever arm/leg formation happens to be available. This is similar to any sacrifice circle throw from judo is really just the same throw with a different leg and arm placement. I assume it makes sense here but I’m speculating. Is that about right? I’d like to see a book take this organizational approach.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 29, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I believe you are right Neijia. Often when rolling, the basics of the sweep are often available but because of the continuous arm and leg movements you have to improvise. Availability often takes the place of perfection. In my green belt Judo experience, the knowledge of throws and body mechanics have gotten me out of many situations.

    Howeverm in terms of the “specific hand and leg formations,” it seems like the deeper I go the more techniques I run into. Even though the best often say that the basics are key.

    neijia said:
    July 30, 2008 at 7:43 am

    I assume the deeper you go every formation may be very deliberate but right now it’s just too much information for my mind/body. Improvisation based on body mechanics should help me get to green belt in judo as well so it sounds good for now. After a long time, I guess I’ll start to understand the guard variations. The only move I know from x-guard is a sweep, lol.

Leave a Reply

