Sambo Steve: An Interesting Submission

Posted on Updated on

I ‘happened across’ a video of Sambo Steve who has an interesting series of videos on YouTube. Although the video’s purpose was to demonstrate a counter to a toehold or knee-crush, it wasn’t the counter that caught my attention. It was the toehold or knee-crush submission.

I am often able to obtain the back of my opponent while they assume a turtle position. One of the easiest things to do is to get at least one hook in. Usually I will work to get the other hook in and pull my opponent backwards or I may grab an arm and attempt an arm-bar. However, I never thought about hooking one foot, spinning out and then sinking in a submission on the hooked leg.

The video demonstrates it better than I can describe it…

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

Leave a Reply

